Writing Tools: Gaming

in #writing6 years ago

tarot-991041_640.jpg

There are many games out there that can help you with your writing. One of the great games is a card game called Once Upon a Time. It is on its third edition now and going strong. Tabletop even did a review on it, but it can also be used as a writing tool. I have a second edition main set that I have used for years. Whenever I get stuck I pull out the cards and pull three to write about.

There is also writer’s block dice. With so many that I would recommend just searching the Internet and finding a set that works best for you.

Another great game is Chrononauts. Which is all about changing history to get to your ending. It is one of the great games that helps with understanding time travel.

On a personal note, I have grown up playing games like these and some more difficult game. Gaming has always helped me in opening my imagination. It has helped me to strategies and makes more dynamic characters.

game-340574_640.jpg

There is more to gaming than your average person may know about. Take a moment and think back to the games that you have played and how they have influenced you. Because in some way they have touched you.

Once upon a time played by table top

Sort:  

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!
Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!
You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.
Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!

Yes, you have my permission to share this post. Thanks for discovering my post.

I love the game "Once Upon a Time"!

I'd also say that tarot cards can be helpful if you get stuck because they might be abl eto nudge you in a direction you hadn't thought of.

And nearly any RPG that you've played and enjoyed can be helpful as well :)

I'm glad you brought this game to the forefront again -- it deserves every bit of it.

I completely agree gaming is one of my favorite tools. I even have old RPG books to help figure out what kind of damage a character might take in a fight. Thanks for the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89