Happy 1st Day of Spring

in #writing6 years ago

nature-3238564_640.jpg

Today is the first day of Spring, I thought I should tip my hat to the change of season. Spring is the season of rebirth, regrowth, renewal, resurrection, and freshness. It is like the earth is waking with a sigh and a feeling for warmth with a little bit of a chill in the air. Now is a time where many people clean to get the musty feeling of being locked indoors for the winter season. As if we are subjected to not go outside or open our windows during the time. The first signs of spring are the small green shoots that begin to show in the earth.

For kids, they love this time of year as Spring Break is at hand. A small gap in their school life to just hang out. Not always a fun time for parents who have to find something that will entertain them for this time period. Then again it can make for some really amazing family trips too. Then you have Easter egg hunts, as well as, family get-togethers all so are a lot of fun for everyone.

osterkorb-3233053_640.jpg

Personally, I’m not a huge Spring person. First off we have the whole time change and springing forward. As a night person, it is never a good experience for me or those who have to deal with me in the mornings. Secondly there is the hay fever that comes with everything starting to bloom. I do however love to be outside in the warm sunshine and not need to wear layer upon layer of clothing. Gardening is another thing that my whole family enjoys, we like to grow our own vegetables.

On a writer’s note, there are many conferences that are about to start. In Colorado, we have the Denver Comic Con, Colorado Teen Literature Conference, and the Pikes Peak Writers Conference. New York City host the publishing conference Book Expo America, which is by far one of my all-time favorite conferences to ever have attended. There are many more that you can find all of the world. If you haven’t been to one you should look into the ones that are in your area and see if they might work for you.

comic-con-2228405_640.jpg

Also with spring one thing I like to do is dust off some of my older projects and do a little spring cleaning. Looking over them and seeing if any speak to me differently or that I need to start to working on one of them. Especially if it is something that I haven’t worked on in a long time, reworking it with new eyes can change the whole reason you may have put it down in the first place.

Something else to know is that the team that has brought you National Novel Writing Month also has a Camp NANOWRIMO that is going to be starting April 1st, as I stated in a previous post. Please look into it as I find that this helps me push through those times when writing is not coming as easy as I would like it to.

So what are your springtime rituals? Does your writing change with the season? Are you going to be going to any writing conference this year?

Wishing you a Happy Spring.

(All pictures are from https://pixabay.com)

Sort:  

I like the idea of spring but here in Montana it is often little more than that; an idea. We typically skip straight from winter to summer and then everything catches on fire. A quick Google image search of Montana spring memes will give you an idea of how most people around here feel about it. Montana actually holds both the record for the greatest temperature variance with its lowest recorded temperature (-70F) being 187 degrees colder than it's highest (117) and the record for greatest temperature change in one day (95 F, Loma, MT 1972). It also has the second lowest recorded temperature (number one in the lower 48) in the US, behind Alaska.

I do look forward to starting my garden once it is warm enough though.



source



source

Here in Colorado our weather is very odd. Just 2 days ago it snowed almost 8 inches. Then it’s beautiful again.

Living in the Rockies sure is something else.

Happy Spring girl !
Not a spring person either [especially in Denmark where there's no spring, we still have snow - what spring? :P ] and a night person as well... so I hear ya! Haha

I'm traveling right now but it's snowing back home in Colorado. But our weather is crazy one minute it's snowing then it changes and it can be like 70 degrees.

Hi its so relaxing shot I like the color of nature gift
Wishing you also Happy Spring.
Thanks
@maujmasti

Thanks and a Happy Spring to you too.

in my country not have spring. So, I just imagine how beautiful spring.

Nice post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43