You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dialectics, an updated guide

in #writing6 years ago

Wow! Thanks for such a nice post. I enjoyed it and didn't feel overwhelming for me, which reading about philosophy often does. I think the... Success? Or widespread that Dialectics has had along history is because it comes very organic to one's process of thinking. At least it strikes me as a pretty natural and easygoing way of thinking. The Thesis/Antithesis/Synthesis tryad is something that often presents itself in my personal endeavours, yet I haven't gotten to stop and think about it as I did with this post.

I'm a big fan of Thomas Kuhn's work, and I found this excellent phrase a alike his way of thinking:

Progress is not inherently good nor bad, to declare such is to neuter progress whence it had been achieved! Progress is simply that: to move forward from a place that had not been experienced before.

I think it is one of the most common misconceptions that progress is good, always, undeniably, and it becomes a dogma for people quite often. But many will benefit of taking a Dialectic approach to it, really digging deep in what you summed up so perfectly in this phrase. Experiencing something that hasn't been visited before. Nothing less, nothing more. All value judgement is beyond that.

I really enjoyed your take on this subject, and I'm eager to see what else you are covering : ) (Will be slowly catching up to your back to back posts - let's hope not so slowly, haha!)

Sort:  

UwU ~ Thanks for reading and thanks for the philosophical input! That's good, that's the whole point of redoing these posts: something that at least, even if the concepts are challenging, can be read and understood if the person didn't bumrush/skim through the reading. Also great, we got another Dialectician (welcome to Dialectics gang). Good that I got yah to start thinkin', especially when yah relayed it to Thomas Kuhn (very interesting person that everyone should at least take a gander at). Anywho, hope yah'll like my fortnight+ of philosophic content!

- Down below will be some Dialectic schemas -
5EE05A00-0E06-4047-846C-615FB302B69C.jpeg

Hey, that's a great complement to the post! Thanks :O

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.28
ETH 3441.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62