NaPoWriMo: Day 1

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2513.jpgFirst poem for you all! It doesn't have a title yet. Maybe someone could suggest one?

---


Sometimes saying the truth requires volume.
Sometimes color.
Sometimes emptiness, and silence and breath.
Make a space and see what fills it.
We're always pushing and pushing and pushing
And pulling and pulling and pulling.
Stop it!

There's an ache above my left eyebrow deep in my head and it's a fiending that's waiting for a fix.
I'm tired I'm hungry I'm scared I'm bored I'm excited I'm having fun.
I am I am I am.
Shhh!

Sit on the porch and watch the birds for two hours.
Draw a wooden cube and a white pitcher on a striped table cloth in pencil for three.
Massage your lover with oil and feel their muscles slip and shift under your hands.
Go for a drive in silence and in the barrage of your own thoughts.
Call me when you're done.
Or better yet,
Don't.

Sort:  

Beautiful! A name? To the encounter with life.

Love this upbeat, whimsical style of writing. Poetry is so often dour and moody - it makes a welcome change to stumble across something as playful as this.

Something about these lines in particular just sets me off:

Sit on the porch and watch the birds for two hours.
Draw a wooden cube and a white pitcher on a striped table cloth in pencil for three.

Both so specific and also broad, in the sense that they point to a more general state of being - calm focus.

I tend to go for snappy titles, so I'd probably call it something like 'soporifics' - but it's up to you. Titles can be a powerful tool when you use them right, counterpointing or highlighting the theme of the poem, so it's always worth taking the time to think one up in my opinion :) Look forward to reading more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64251.91
ETH 3494.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54