DAD, I LEFT THE HOUSE TODAY

in #writing6 years ago

Dad, I left the house today
You told me I couldn't because I'm a failure and weakling
But Dad, I broke your chains binding my mind and restraining my feet
Now I can feel the suns rays, hear the birds and see in color.

The house of your lies and constant abuse
How I'm worth nothing and no one would love me
How I'm a murderer because my Mum died to give me life
How was I to know my life would be a replacement for her?

It's a bittersweet feeling
On the road now I'm fleeing
Your bitterness, abuse, lies, rage, shaming, whipping; I feel awoken
But Dad I think I'm broken

A woman unable to love herself
Self-esteem lower than the temperature of the north pole
I am broken Dad but I'm glad
Glad I left your house, Dad I left the house today and I'm not going back.

So, Guys, this is my first try at writing a poem. I'm going to keep writing because that's the only way I'll get better. Came across a contest recently, I participated and it sparked in me all sorts. #CONSTRAINEDWRITING by @svashta

Here's a link to join in on that and a good writers community.
https://steemit.com/constrainedwriting/@svashta/constrained-writing-contest-16-winners-of-constrained-writing-contest-15

So I'll be writing a series of poems with different themes on the topic I LEFT THE HOUSE. The first line would always be Dad I left the house today. It can go in any direction and mean anything. You can drop your own poem with the same topic and theme in the comments and if it's awesome as I know it would be, I'll pick one I like the most and share the SBD payout on this post. Kindly Resteem. N.B: Poem must come in before post-payout.

Please Checkout and follow these awesome people: @svashta @simgirl @metzli and follow #constrainedwriting and #freewrite. Awesome community; Please resteem.

Sort:  

Following you! + upvote :)

Thanks. I'll follow right back

Congratulations @alshabaz! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alshabaz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67