I Have Submitted Manuscripts to Four Publishers Now. Anxiously Waiting on a Reply.

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


source

If you're wondering why I managed only one post between 10am and 8pm, it's because I was asleep during that time as a consequence of having been up all night sending out manuscripts to publishers. It's a surprisingly convoluted process as they all have different formatting requirements and other preferences you have to make multiple versions of your manuscripts to satisfy.

Still, I don't know why it took me so long to finally get around to doing this. I think I felt as if time spent trying to monetize my work through traditional channels was time I could be spending writing. I'm going to die someday and I'd rather leave behind as much writing as possible than be wealthy. You can't do anything with money when you're dead.

However with SBD continuing to plummet somehow, I just plain need money to live. I'm not in great shape financially, which has forced me out of my comfort zone. I am not really suited to do any job but writing, so I've either got to make that work for me or die trying.

To that end, here are the publishers I submitted six novel manuscripts to, and dozens of short stories (only to Rainfall Books as short stories are specifically what they're after) as well as their requirements:

Elder Signs Press

URL: http://www.eldersignspress.com/
Submissions: [email protected]
Guidelines:
DOC or RTF only
name, contact information, and word count on first page
double-space
underline instead of italics
don’t double return between paragraphs
Times New Roman
left-aligned and indent
title of manuscript and intended book (if it’s an anthology story)
short fiction word count: around 5,000 words to less than novella length
novel word count: 80,000 and up
new stories preferred over previously-published
book submissions send a synopsis (including ending, genre, and word count) and first three chapters

Eraserhead Press

URL: https://eraserheadpress.com/
Submissions: [email protected].
Guidelines:
In the body of your email message please include an author bio and a 3-5 sentence summary to pique our interest (worded like a back cover description).
Attached to the email include your full manuscript
Please include a one-page synopsis of your book on the first page of your manuscript or attach as a separate document. Writing a good synopsis is important because if we are not interested in your synopsis, we may not read any further into your manuscript.
Format your manuscript as follows:
Word document .doc or .docx or Rich Text File .rtf (no .pdfs please).
Times New Roman or Arial 11-12 pt font.
Your author name, email address, book title and word count should appear on the first page of your manuscript. All subsequent pages should have your name, title, and page number in the header.
Your manuscript should be well edited and free of grammatical errors.

Tartarus Press

URL: http://www.tartaruspress.com
Submissions: [email protected]
Guidelines:
Word count: We are looking for short story collections and novels of between 75,000 and 120,000 words

Subject matter and style: We would like to receive literary strange/supernatural fiction. We are not interested in high fantasy, violent horror or young adult fiction. If you write within a traditional genre such as vampire or ghost fiction then please make sure that the more clichéd trappings of your genre are, at best, a very marginal part of your work. Please note: we do not publish teen, children's or young adult fiction.

Payment: to be negotiated.

Submissions: Electronic submissions should be sent to [email protected] and we would prefer your work as a Word or rtf attachment. Mail submissions can be sent to us at the address at the top left of this page, but please remember that if we are to mail a reply we will need a stamped, self-addressed envelope or return postage. (No IRCs or non-UK stamps please!) Please send a synopsis or first two or three chapters/stories when first getting in contact.

Please note, we are not accepting single short story submissions for the Strange Tales series at the moment.

Rainfall Books

URL: http://www.rainfallsite.com
Submissions: [email protected]
Guidelines:
Short stories only, Word format preferred. Include name and mailing address.

As you can see, some publishers are more demanding than others. It's all a giant leap beyond what I've had to deal with in the past, as I've only ever self-published on Amazon until now. You can put literally anything up for people to buy on Amazon, for better or worse.

However waiting for millions of people to somehow stumble across my novels on Amazon hasn't worked out. I've made perhaps $100 in total over 6 years that way. That's a bit over $16 per year. I mean, I spent nothing on advertising which probably didn't help, but I can't afford to until my writing starts making more money. A chicken/egg problem.

I'm going to keep seeking out publishers that specialize in weird horror and the few other genres I write in. I'm gonna keep sending out manuscripts. Because really, I should have started doing so 5 years ago. Better late than never. I guess I have benefited from improving my writing skills in that time, which in turn approves my chances with publishers.

The microsecond I hear back from any of the publishers I have so far sent manuscripts to, you guys will be the first to know about it. If I hit the big time as an author, you'll be able to say you followed my work back when I was posting it serially on Steemit for peanuts.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

Good luck. You're a very talented writer and you'll get an audience.

Have you come across Mark Dawson's self-publishing course:
https://selfpublishingformula.com/courses

I did the 101 course and it was exceptionally good and I don't often praise things. It goes through the mechanics of making a living from your writing. Everything from the front & back matter (things like a link to a landing page), to building a simple website to collect emails, to getting readers and signups through giveaway & promotional websites. Then the automated emails you ought to keep in constant contact with readers, then asking for reviews and then how to get on to promotional sites i.e. Bookbub etc. where you can get massive exposure and megabucks.

He's got a later course which focuses on ads to promote back catalogues of books. As you have a lot of work already, it could be very useful.

Mark himself is on target to earn over $1 million this year from his thrillers on Amazon. And there are lots of beginner writers in the Facebook group who are doing incredibly well.

As for myself I did the 101 course, released a novella, got ~100 email signups in 2 weeks and have some promotions running next week.

It's still early days for me, but you'll do much better much sooner, as you have lots of material to work with. In fact I did the course in one month, then cancelled and didn't actually pay anything for it, I got a refund.

At the very least it's worth signing up to his emails and podcast.

Also re: promotion of your old books, look at this link below. This guy has spent over $30k on promotions in several years and knows what works, and what doesn't.

http://nicholaserik.com/promo-sites/

Anyway, good luck and feel free to drop me a line: alexclifford93 at gmail

Big thanks! This is really valuable info.

Also this came through on my email. Don't know if it's any use, but you could cash in your back catalogue of stories on steemit with these magazines:
https://www.freedomwithwriting.com/freedom/uncategorized/50-magazines-and-anthologies-that-pay-for-horror-fiction/

Did you also consider branching out to Play and to the Smashwords channels (iBooks, Kobo, B&N, Bol, etc)? I know for many multi-channel authors, Amazon makes up the large majority of their sales, but for me, personally, it has been the other way around. Close to zero sales on Amazon and those sales I did made were only during a Goodreads add campaign that ended up costing me much more than I got back from it. For me, Amazon has done about as poorly as B&N till now, and Kobo, iBooks have turned out to be my primary channels. I just branched out to Play with a free period for promotional purposes, so not sure yet how that channel will end up fitting in, once the promotional period ends and the book I branched off with becomes non-free, but I very much doubt it will end up doing worse than Amazon. For me, writing is just a hobby, so as long as I brake even I'm cool with whatever I make, but still, I appreciate the idea of being on multiple channels regardless of finances. If I was in any way financially dependent on my writing, I'm at this point not actually sure I'dd be keeping Amazon as a channel, as for me, it has been the channel I put most work and effort in and against the lowest returns.

Thanks, this just reinforces my impression of Amazon so far.

Alex - Hope they'll approve your writings... If they do, it's the new era of author world... Good luck Alex...

+W+

Many many and many well wishes for you mr @alex. You deserve to be published. From manuscript i thought research articles. I do similar stuff however in technical language so may be steemians wont be interested in that :)

They would be! There's a whole tag for it, #steemstem. If you do thoughtful science articles that are carefully cited, you can make good money from the steemstem upvoters.

Oh i didn't know about that. Actually, my articles are really in latest research trend and they are published in journals. May be i should start putting them here :) Thanks a lot for sharing this information

I wish you good luck, Alex; I'm kinda in the same stuff, I live in a shithole country so I cannot afford anything in a normal job (event with the college), so I can only write and live thanks to Steemit until I left this hell. :( but my passion is to write.

That is both interesting and surprising about the Amazon profits, or lack or it.

If it's in such bad shape why do people bother publishing on amazon?

I don't know. Perhaps I was doing it wrong. I think they must spend a great deal on promotion or something.

Okay. Are you planning to give it another go. The correct (promotional) way?

Promotion is expensive.

But there is a reason why even the biggest brands spend on promotion.

Promotion is an investment and every investment has risk attached. If you believe in the product you are selling, you have to risk it.

I am not trying to demean your books by calling them products, but when you sell in the open market for profit, then the reader is the consumer and your book is the product.

Even individuals are products, look at all the social media influencers, they are selling themselves as promotional products to brands!

Cheers and all the best with going the traditional publication way. Hope it works out!

@alexbeyman why haven't you done this before? You're a terrific writer and I think Little Robot will be a hit. Heck, anything you write will be a hit

If you notice that you had few uploads of your publications, but you tried to sacrifice a day of not publishing, looking for a super extra money entry if you get selected so that one of your stories or novels is captured in a book. I hope you are very lucky qalexbeyman you are a good writer and you have a good imagination that will make you make good stories.

LUCK.

Yo, that's awesome to hear, man. I really hope they get back to asap and that you can work out a deal with them to get your work out there a bit more and make some money. I've enjoyed reading many of your short stories, and I definitely think there's a market for them. (With people like me, who are whores for horror related stuff, for example.)

Good luck getting one of your novels published, I hope you hear back soon.

Good luck getting one
Of your novels published, I
Hope you hear back soon.

                 - fictionalfacts


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65