BAMBOO-ZLED!!

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I have studying bamboo since a long time now and it has become one of my absolute favourite mediums to work with. The possibilities with this material with the added advantage of availability are simply incredible.

I have come across some interesting uses of bamboo that I didn't know about earlier and was really surprised to find them!

1. Tattoo Art ( Thailand )

The bamboo tattoo is given with a perfectly balanced piece of bamboo that has been shaped with a grip.

BeV8C.jpg

Image Source

2. Curry : Alu Tama

Here I was thinking that bamboo and cane were something only pandas would eat but turns out there is a curry in Nepal named as Alu Tama (Potato & fermented Bamboo).

Screen Shot 2017-09-20 at 5.54.23 PM.png

Image source

3. Bamboo Fabric

Yep, you heard me right! One can find a lot of fabrics and clothing from bamboo which is super eco-friendly :)

64.jpg

Image Source

4. Toys

Screen Shot 2017-09-20 at 7.44.00 PM.png

Image Source

5. Medicinal

Bamboo is also beneficial for health as it's shoots are highly fibrous and lower the risk of heart diseases. It also has a low fat & cholesterol content which makes it a good choice for herbal use.

wine-1828119_1280.jpg

So, there you go! Some unusual uses of bamboo & I hope you found them interesting!

Personally, I see bamboo as a material with so many incredible uses and I am already loving exploring with it. I am currently in the process of making a product for landscape designing taking zen gardens as inspiration. Will be posting about it soon!

Till Then..


Keep Creating

Lots of Love <3

Sort:  

nice post! bamboo IS amazing!!! i cant think of much you can't make from it.. and have you ever watched one bolt up! wow.. mine grew about 2 inches a day at one point..

No actually I haven't! I had a smaller one in my home though :D

@aishwarya Really good post.

Thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25