You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Books?

in #writing6 years ago

There is soo much I can say about why books are important for myself as an individual and for the world in general. Books, and libraries in particular, were safe spaces for me. There were no limitations, and I was given permission to simply be, to make messes and be my own hero. I was able to sound out words and have no shame in being a slower reader, or having a speech impediment. The characters weaved together a world both in the real world, and also created new ones which reminded me that I am important, and I matter. Books were important for myself as a little girl, a little brown girl who felt as if I was not allowed to be a princess, pirate, or heroine. Books were important in showing me the variety of characters be it skin color or other background, and helped me to be curious and brave. I also think in going to the library at a young age I was able to see there were other people in the world who were just as passionate about stories, and were excited to share their findings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76