THE STORY OF MY LIFE🌐🌍🇳🇬♨️

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I awoke in a strange room, lying on a bed. I could feel pain from the bruises all all over my body. I looked around wondering where I was, and how i got there🙄. Then I noticed there was someone sleeping on a chair beside my bed. Who was it, how did I get here, what happened?, were some of the many questions running through my mind🤔.
Everything seemed so dim, as I could hardly see from my swollen eyes.
I tried to call for the figure beside me but, nothing came out. It seemed only I could hear my voice. Was I dead?😨.
Luckily, a female figure in white came in, realizing I was awake, ran out immediately and came back with a male figure also in white. I thought they were angels who had come to take me to paradise.😇
Then the figure asleep on the chair beside me, awoke and there was a brief conversation. I could heard their voices but, couldn't comprehend what they were saying. I was wondering what the angels were talking about. Were they negotiating on whether to take me or not?😮. I could only make an angry face, since I couldn't talk from my swollen lips, hoping to get their attention.
Finally, the male figure on white came close to me and then I heard his gentle voice say: 'How are you feeling?', putting his warm palm on my forehead.
I tried to identify his face but, everything seemed so dim. The other two figures in the room came closer and then I heard a familiar voice call my name, Doyin, are you okay?.
On hearing that voice, flashes of previous events ran through my mind and then I remembered!💡.
Everything came rushing back like a flood to my memory. Then I was told I was rushed to the hospital at 1:00am unconscious and had been unconscious for eight hours. This was January, 2016.

Here's what happened
IMG_20180125_045506_489.jpg
(Image source)[https://goo.gl/images/pJjqeL]

I had been physically abused by my stepmother, which had become a norm since my dad married her, when I was just eight. And for whatever reason know to her, saw me as a threat to her marital happiness. I mostly kept this from my dad and would always give an excuse when he saw bruises on my face and body. I would either say, I fell down the stairs or hit my head on the door.

IMG_20180125_045440_027.jpg
(Image source)[https://goo.gl/images/pJjqeL]

I always thought there was something wrong with me or I had done something wrong.

IMG_20180125_045404_288.jpg
(Image source)[https://goo.gl/images/pJjqeL]

I wished I could disappear or escape the emotional,verbal and physical torture. I ran away a couple of times and would hide under bridges or in uncompleted buildings nearby until, someone found me and took me back home.

IMG_20180125_050004_806.jpg
(Image source)[https://goo.gl/images/pJjqeL]

And the abuse cycle would begin all over again🤦. It was at this point my dad suspected I was being maltreated and sent me off to boarding school, which I happily left for.
I soon found out it was only a temporary relief, as I was never allowed to stay back at the boarding house during the school's vacation.
I wasn't a regular teenager. I was timid, distant and critical. I also had eating disorders and was hyper-emotional.

IMG_20180125_044542_837.jpg
(Image source)[https://goo.gl/images/pJjqeL]

I tried in everyway possible to please her, but, nothing I did was never good enough for her.

IMG_20180125_045333_420.jpg
(Image source)[https://goo.gl/images/pJjqeL]

Fast forward to January 2016. I was on holiday and had been in my room all day for fear of her hitting me, when my dad came back from work around 9pm. He came to my room to check on me and asked if I had eaten. 'Yes', I lied, to avoid getting into trouble. Then he asked me to come out to have some tea with him in the living room. I came out trembling and avoided making eye contact with her in the living room. I sat on a sofa beside my dad, opposite her.She obviously couldn't stand the sight of me, as she eyed me spitefully from head to toe.
Then my dad received a phonecall and left the sitting room for the garage outside🙆. I felt like running after him, but I stayed still and glued my eyes to the TV screen, praying silently for him to come back to the living room.
When she saw that my dad was far enough, she bounced on me out of the blues with all her might. And beat me to stupor. Me not being a match for her screamed for help, but my dad was in his car and his windows were wound up. I could see him and tried running to the door but, she pulled my hair back. And broke a flower vase and used it's pieces to scratch me all over, while pouncing my face and body.
That was the last thing I remember before I lost consciousness.

I was discharged the next day but, this time my maternal relatives(who i wasn't close to) were waiting for me at the reception to take me with them. When we got home, the first thing I did was to go look myself in the mirror and the sight was horrific. I couldn't recognize myself!.

IMG_20180125_045907_384.jpg
(Image source)[https://goo.gl/images/uQXgYS]

This picture was taken a month after my discharge from the hospital. After a series of visits to the psychologist.

IMG_20180125_021550.jpg

If you zoom in, you would still see bruise marks on my face, forehead and hands.

IMG_20180125_045824_204.jpg
(Image source)[https://goo.gl/images/uQXgYS]

My maternal relatives, had her apprehended by the police. But, she was later released on bail, after much pleas from me. Because i felt there was no point and the most important thing was that i was alive. It took me time forgive her and YES, I have forgiven her and i've moved on and I'm stronger, wiser and happier with my life.
I'm grateful to GOD that I survived. Yes I am a SURVIVOR!.

FB_IMG_15168404555969879.jpg

IF YOU ARE EXPERIENCING ANY FORM OF ABUSE, SPEAK OUT. DON'T KEEP QUIET OR ACCEPT IT. REPORT THE ABUSE IMMEDIATELY TO THE AUTHORITIES, OR YOU MIGHT NOT BE AS LUCKY AS I WAS TO SURVIVE VIOLENT PHYSICAL ABUSE.

IMG_20180125_045748_772.jpg
(Image source)[https://goo.gl/images/pJjqeL]

SAY NO TO ABUSE NOW!. PLEASE ALSO REPORT IF YOU SUSPECT A CHILD IS ABUSED AND SAVE A LIFE.

IMG_20180125_045730_935.jpg.
(Image source)[https://goo.gl/images/pJjqeL]

Writing this wasn't as easy as i thought, teardrops roll down my cheeks as I type.

Thanks for reading.
PLEASE RESTEEM AND SPREAD THE WORD.
SAY NO TO ABUSE!

Please support the Smart Media Token @teardrop project by Sir @surpassinggoogle and follow https://www.facebook.com/teardropstokens on Facebook.

Please also support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.

If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

If it really happened!!! then you have a terrible life !!!

Yes, It did happen. Point of correction, my life is not terrible. Infact, it's the most beautiful life you could ever have. I've come to appreciate life more and my experience also has given me understanding to counsel the abused I come across and also help the less priviledged, who have worse experiences and together we fight through and win!. I recently founded Faith, Hope and Love Foundation for the less pirivildeged. And i derive joy, in spreading happiness and comfort to the maximum.
You should try that too sometime @adnandybala

I also want to like it, but my level is still very weak !!!

Showing a little love doesn't always cost money. It's free!.💖
Thanks for stopping by

wow...amazing post.... i like your post....

I think we are a part of something truly special here, and I welcome you! Another early adopter to this amazing technology.

Thanks for the encouragement @lopezdacruz.

Really amazing !

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Hey that excellent content of your theme. It is necessary that more people are interested in this serious problem, this happens in many parts has become something so common being something so bad ... Of course I will share. Oh and when you like please visit my blog☺

Will visit soon @karlita. Thanks for stopping by.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54