Stress Testing our Institutions

in #writing8 years ago

I believe we live in a defining moment.

The time between meaningful global events appears to be shrinking at a rapid pace.

Humanity has just begun to come to grips with the implications of living in a truly globalized world.

The time will come when we will be forced to admit that the pillars of modern society are built upon a crumbling foundation.

The burden on our governments, universities, communities, and economies has dramatically increased over the past century; the cracks in their foundations ceaselessly spider and grow deeper.

The challenges which await us can only be overcome by acts of mass cooperation on a scale previously thought impossible.

I believe that rational discourse and an honest evaluation of our way of life is the first step to initiating the required change.

I believe that Steemit is one of the few places on the Internet where such a dialog is possible.

So with that, I end with a request. I want to know what you think I should write about first. I have been lurking on Steemit for months now and have been blown away by the vibrancy of this community. I believe this is the beginning of a global movement: people who wish to take back their right to free speech and real discourse.

Everything starts somewhere, why not here?

"The speed with which change is happening and the ripple effects that it causes socially are putting our institutions under unprecedented stress because most of our institutions began in the past, to solve problems of the past, using the technology of the past, according to the values of the past. I mean I'm thinking about things like government and banking and marriage and religion, ... the fundamental institutions of any society. These are being shaken close to failure, I believe, by the advent, above all, of the internet and the apparent availability of information on an unprecedented scale and total access."
-- James Burke (Common Sense with Dan Carlin Episode 312)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56560.74
ETH 2390.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34