You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't compete with yourself for likes and upvotes

in #writing5 years ago

A sound advice that I wish has gotten through to every struggling steemian out there. I'm lucky that my best works do get notice when I do intend for the post to be noticed, like putting in more umpf to it than what I normally post. But it does get to me that some of my posts weren't meant to be noticed and just there to let people know I'm active get some decent upvotes. It's not a bad thing but it does make me consider how I should approach my blogs. Right now I'm just happy that people still bother to give comments to my posts compared to having bots leave their mark alone.

Sort:  

It can be extremely confusing. I sometimes find myself looking at my old articles and thinking "What the hell was I doing back then that got me so many rewards, and why can't I do it now?"

The truth is that my content nowadays is a lot better than what I was creating last year, and the rewards I got were sometimes my own merit, while other times, pure luck.

It's frustrating, and knowing other people have to deal with that makes me less worried. I guess we shouldn't be that surprised that old pieces of content get attention from time to time, sometimes more than our recent works. After all, what we publish doesn't go away with time, and people can revisit (or stumble upon) old content to see more of what we do.

But I guess that looking back isn't always good. Progress is not made by constantly thinking about the past. Progress is made by looking forwards, learning from mistakes and working.

Thank you for reading and commenting :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66940.80
ETH 3122.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77