You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If the water was clean 윗물이 맑아야 아랫물이 맑지

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

This is an interesting piece. I liked the vivid imagery. The first two stanzas evoke a feeling of helplessness to nature's seemingly random choices. The water becomes an unwelcome visitor dispite its charms.

The mountain mud makes a pretty picture
But in the kitchen I couldn't swim there

This stanza is a little awkward to me, but that's why I like it. It's interesting. It makes me think. The humor inherent in thinking of swimming in a kitchen helps to give the poem a tone of preservance through trial. I like it.

A mom doesn't work
Get a bucket
scoop it out with a dust pan

Here is another example of awkward imagery that is effective because of its strangeness. I wonder why a mom doesn't work. What is being said? Is it that a mom would usually work, but in this instance the mess is even too much for someone so competent? Intriguing.

One thing that was a little too awkward was the line.

But this river so merky

I'm not sure if it is a misspelling of murky, or if something more is attempting to be said. I looked up the word in the urban dictionary and the definition kind of fit, so it is possible that it isn't a misspelling. The urban dictionary defines merky this way: adj. used to describe a disgusting or nasty person. This, if taken in context with the description of what the proverb has to say about corrupt leaders got me thinking. Maybe it was intentional?

Regardless, I had a lot of fun with this poem and the description of the mess and the muddy children. Lol. 😎

Sort:  

I thought about your comment for a while. Thank you for taking time to consider what I wrote @acousticsteveo.

I think the mom line is a Freudian slip. My wife was nagging me to stop using the computer and that I was wasting my time. And to watch the kids and help them etc... Well... Mop was replaced with mom at that point. Later I noticed and decided to keep it.

Merky is totally intentional.

As in definition 3:

"...you merky dumbass you found those on the ground you don't know where they've been."

There is no misspelling here.

Finally swimming through the kitchen is what happened the last time it rained like this 9 years ago. That was a headache. Since then the city has terraced the mountain and put in a flood canal so it won't ever happen that bad again. This also creates a nice garden area in the back of our house where we can plant.

I know I got to check up on your posts. I am a little behind as I took about two days off of Steemit.

Thanks for all the insights. I value them. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66