You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An epic classroom shot that went viral and an important lesson in content rights (currently being ignored by most Steemit users)

in #writing8 years ago

Thank you for this. I have actually not been aware of too much about the rules considering content and is something I wanna look into more. Like you said most people post the source and think it is/should be enough, like I have been doing in some cases.
Even though I post stuff I create myself mostly, I wouldn't want to accidentally steal the thunder of the original creator and understand how that would feel as a creator yourself.

Thanks for this awareness, will make sure to try and contact the real owner of content before including it in future posts.

Sort:  

Thanks for your comment, @acidyo.

I appreciate your point of view, and fully agree, in most situations, giving credit should be enough. This is a real life example where just giving credit technically isn't enough. Had I embedded that video without permission, and Jukin Media found it, they could demand I take it down. If I made a significant amount of money on Steemit from posting their content, they may demand I pay them those funds as well.

Using others' content is such a gray area that deserves a larger conversation. But, I think it's always a good idea to err on the side of caution.

and would they have a claim to the curation rewards? And great post! Thanks for all the work you put into it.

Hey @richardjuckes - great questions.

I don't think there is necessarily a clear answer for that. With Steemit being such a new platform, and with so much of a gray area in the realm of digital theft, it's hard to say what the result of a lawsuit might be.

Thanks for taking the time to read!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54339.14
ETH 2284.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33