IT'S OKAY TO ASK FOR HELP - NOTES TO SELF (THOUGHT SERIES #1)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

help.jpg

It's a tough world out there, no doubt. Our personalities are indeed shaped by life choices and experiences. Self-reliance is an admirable trait that can be helpful to overcoming challenges, but like everything else, too much self-reliance can become draining and harmful.

With a bit of self-reflection, I can say that I'm a kind of person that prides himself on self-reliance. I get that huge smile on my face when I achieve something all by myself, but what happens when things don't work out, then I keep struggling with my issues and end in a deeper hole than before.

banner.png

association.jpg

The case of extreme self-reliance can also be connected to one's environment. Some people grew up in an environment whereby all they have to do is ask for something and its handed out to them. but that might not be the case for others.

I can remember growing up in the streets of Nigeria, we have a popular term called "OYO" which means on your own.

I am also sure in various cultures we must have heard the term: "heaven help those who help themselves",
not to say those philosophies are bad, but they can also be self-inflicting when problems and issues become overbearing.

banner.png

stormy-sky-3117708_960_720.jpg

As a man, self-reliance can take another dimension. we are naturally raised to man up and face our challenges head-on and not complain.

The reasoning behind extreme self-reliance can often be misunderstood for pride or being proudful but that is far from the case.

To my understanding and based on my life experiences, I would conclude that the reason I sometimes find it difficult to ask for help is due to my extreme sense of responsibility, the satisfaction of achieving a goal alone, that feeling I get when I give the impression that I would never be bothersome and my willful stubbornness.

banner.png

If there is anyone out there that struggles with asking for help, my heart truly goes out to you. You have people that wouldn't hesitate to ask for handouts and then there are others that struggles with asking for help. We are truly a mix of the whole bunch.

What helps me to balance my self-reliance is understanding of the simple rule of giving and receiving. Giving and receiving are not mutually exclusive, you can both give and receive at the same time. I can remember the times I was truly helpful to someone, there is a satisfaction and heartful bliss that comes with being helpful.

banner.png

circle.jpg

Think of it as giving the other person the opportunity to have a heartful bliss, you are both giving and receiving at the same time.

Also, knowing your own self-limitations can set you straight on when to stop and look around for people that truly care about you.

Thanks for reading friends. peace and love


dvote.jpeg
thanks-for-reading1.gif

img source pixabay 1 2 3 4

Sort:  

I too have issues with letting other people help me due to my self reliance.. but I have found that one of the best feelings in the world is helping others, so i only find it fair to let others help me sometimes too! lol ;)

That is the way. I guess we are both on the right track :-)

Wonderful article! I have a hard time asking for help, especially if I ask someone, and the help is refused. But I've learned to find the people who are willing, and I also believe in reciprocity. Thanks for writing this. Great thoughts!

You are right, fear of rejection is also a factor. Thanks for reading. am glad you enjoyed this. peace.

It's okay to ask for help like you've rightly said but I think one has to try first before asking.

Another reason I think people shy away from asking for help from others is the fact that; when some people get to render help to others, they tend to proclaim it to the whole world and get glory from it making the person who asked for help feel less of a human.

You're right. Thanks for your input. I'm glad you enjoyed reading it.

wow , its better to ask if you are stuck some were just sit quietly and ask for help to our self mind will give you solution... ;-)

@adityajainxds #thealliance

That is self-meditation. sometimes we don't have all the answers and have to consult people that have more knowledge and experience than us.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by abmakko from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

really motivate article
Hello guys, today is my first day.. please guidance and assistance. upvote n resteem.. i really appreciate that

thank you.

follow me @arifirwandi88 and i will do the same thanks.

You are spamming sir. remove that link. It seems you are really new but that is not how steemit works. I'll give you the opportunity to remove the link or you get a flag. thanks for enjoying my article

removed
thanks to ur advice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68564.93
ETH 3839.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67