Go As Fast As You Can, But Never Hurry

in #writing7 years ago

Do every day, all that can be done for that day, without overworking and without doing tomorrow's work.png

"Do every day, all that can be done for that day, without overworking and without doing tomorrow's work"

Every morning I start the day by re-reading notes I have made from the many books I read. These books are motivational or inspirational ones, or autobiographies and biographies of famous people.

I usually read the books all the way through the first time and then I read them again and write down the little gems of wisdom that stand out in my mind. I collect all the gems in a single lined notebook, and it's that notebook that I read and re-read every morning.

Not the whole thing every time. Just a few pages each day.

I like to soak up the thoughts and spend a bit of time pondering each statement to see how I feel about it or how it can help me today.

This morning, I was in the section I'd written down from the book "The Science of Getting Rich" by Wallace D. Wattles. (I absolutely love that name - the imagery it conjures up...)

This particular book is like the original self-help book. It was written back in the late 1800's I think and has terminology and language from that time. It sounds very archaic, but you can see nearly all the writings from modern authors within it. In other words, everyone's copied him.

I really like this book because it doesn't cover up the message in a lot of fluff and bullshit.

The section I was reading today concerned time. And as usual, it was very appropriate to what I am doing at the moment.

I have a lot of projects on the go and under normal circumstances, it would be easy to fall into a state of overwhelm (particularly in relation to learning and understanding STEEM and crypto in general).

But Wallace helps to alleviate that with statements like the one at the top of this article.

He makes it clear that it is "US" that creates our stress or worries and it is "US" that causes ourselves to lose focus of what matters.

In terms of the universal energy and the "formless substance" as he calls it, time and competition are irrelevant, and to focus on them is to take yourself out of the creative process (which is our whole purpose for existence) and to fall into competitiveness, which only leads us to poverty.

"there is never any hurry on the creative plain and there is no lack of opportunity" and "do all that you can do in an efficient manner every day, but do it without haste. Go as fast as you can, but never hurry" are two statements I will use today to help me stay focused on what matters.

And that is, making sure I stick to one task until it is finished and don't worry about other stuff that needs to be done. It will get done when it gets done and by not doing it immediately, I am not detracting from my life or abundance I am creating in the present moment.

Aaron "I am formless substance" Parker

upvote, reply and/or resteem if you found this helpful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68228.72
ETH 3279.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67