The Truth About Content Creation

in #writing10 months ago

I got into making YouTube videos back in 2016. before I did, I thought it was easy to make videos. Once I saw how much it really took to make Youtube videos it changed my mentality. I used to hate watching ads. Once I understood it supports the creator, I saw it as a way to support the creator for free if you don't have the money to join their Patreon.

On here, I don't think people realize making a video is more than just hitting the record button.

On here, when it came off as begging for more votes, I don't think the people understood I don't just press a magic button and there it is.
Also, I need these sites as a means to support myself. And it was hard to do that. I've made blog posts on my blog about disability and explaining how it makes employment tough to seek. Then I felt the self-employment route was the best.
Most people on here make blogging content vs me who makes videos. The process between the 2 vary

Now that I a recording the full game and editing the footage together, it takes way longer.
if the game is 16 hours, I record the entire 16 hours (not in one sitting) and then edit the footage. Editing can take 2/4 days.
Imagine this. You put so much time and energy into a video. upload to Dtube or Threespeak and it only gets 2 pennies. This discourages you from putting so much time into your video for nothing. Low votes could encourage low-quality content. No one wants to spend so much time on a picture, video, song, etc for pennies.
I felt when I talked about more votes, it wasn't just about wanting to be rich (one guy thought that) wanting people to understand the time that really went into a video.
I think we should change how we view quality. A video you think is low-quality could have actually taken the person 8 hours sans-editing. A blog post you think is low-quality could have taken 2 hours to write. or longer. Whether the person posts it to Hive or embeds it from their website.

Some creators prefer to embed. I do this to avoid being accused of stealing content. Steem cleaners got on my case WITH a disclaimer: this is from my blog (and I hot-linked my blog)

embedding takes you to the original source.

Also, I want more votes because more votes equals more HP. That means more value to my vote to vote for other content that interests me.
I remember when Steemit was strong I used this upvote service called Minnow support. They only voted for posts made to Steemit, one picture caused me to get blacklisted because it was "low-quality"
I took several copies and looked at all the copies to find the best one, then I edited the photo and then posted it. They didn't see what happened behind the scenes.

Maybe provide more examples of low quality, Just punishing someone for low quality is too vague. low-quality itself is vague I think of a video with radio shack resolution.

example. Memes with no context do not get voted by the whales.

or hey in the future add your work in progress on your photos. and explain the process, this will add more insights to your photos.
To be frank quality is a spectrum, at least to me.

image.png

~image from pixabay

somee link

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60596.21
ETH 2611.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64