"Why Can't We?"

Ohoopee_T Smith3.jpg


A Cerulean blue sky provides a backdrop for the
Sunlit pines,
As the quiet echoes with an occasional bird call.
Distant Sounds of men; air craft, autos or trains remind me
That I am not alone in this idyll, sadly.
Time drifts Slowly by,
just as the amber water of the river
Does;
Silent and peaceful.

My mind creates Fanciful Images of
Times past, when the Native tribes lived along these waters,
Though this exact spot would have
Been yards from the riverbank
And underground then.

They Lived in relative harmony
With the world and
Nature;
Why Can’t We?

“Why can’t we”

by
Jerry E Smith
©10/23/16

Photo credit to my cousin
Tom Smith
This photo is from the Ohoopee river, one county over from where I grew up
On the smaller, though very similar river, the Canoochee. The water gets that tea
Color from all the Tannin that roots and dropped leaves give up as the water
Flows past. It was idyllic for me back then, still wild and clean and you
Could still find ceramic potsherds and flint arrowheads, evidence of
The extensive Indigenous peoples who lived here before us



These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks




Sort:  

I really could do with some of the river scene... to sit and watch for a few hours... together with your words - make my day! Thank you, Jerry!

My sis did not make it; she passed on on Monday morning
Thank you for your well wishes

Oh I am really sorry for your loss @ackhoo. Some time sitting
Quietly listening to nature and watching the smooth
Placid waters would do you good.

Yes, I agree... might get away for awhile...

@solominer, THIS is from Georgia, and taken by my cousin, just
Miles from where I grew up on an almost identical river.

@jerrytsuseer

Nice, looks like a bank like I have found near Settles Bridge in Suwannee. Little sand bars through our rivers give us alot of muscles to eat.

@jerrytsuseer

No but close by, I travel all over the area doing infrared and ultraviolet photography. You can view them all on steemitworldmap by filtering for my username.

I guess what I'm asking, if you wish to divulge the info, is where DO you live, therefore
How far apart ARE we? I have no real friends to speak of here in the ATL, especially
From this or Weku platforms, so it is always a delightful idea to meet up
With someone I only know from an online presence, in real life.

Email me here and we can talk: [email protected]

Yeah I would be interested in making some friends from Steemit and Weku in real life too.

Email sent @solominer. I might not see a reply as I am still moving
(about to go to bed right now...it was an incredibly long though
Productive day with the help of some friends and family) and
Tomorrow I am performing in Stone Mountain, so this is a
Busy time for me. I MUST BE OUT of this apartment by
10/31; may not have internet in the new location,
But if you send a reply, I will eventually get back
To you. Thanks, I look forward to your reply.

@jerrytsuseer

Okay great, Ill respond as soon as I can.

No worries and best of luck on your move and performance at Stone Mountain.

I am in the midst of a move, from one apartment to another,
Possibly this evening I'll try to contact you. Thanks.

That is a very beautiful photo. So peaceful looking and serene. I love it. Thanks for sharing your beautiful poetry, I think they are thoughtful and loving. Have a lovely day.

And thank you also @starapple for stopping by, reading and
commenting.
All support is appreciated. I'll try to come back and upvote in a bit.

You are quite welcome. Have a great day @jerrytsuseer.

If only more people would ponder in that manner we’d be truly making America great again.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

I agree Nikki my friend, I'll be back to upvote soon

No worries dear Jerry. Just glad to continue seeing you here. ❤️❤️❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98