"Cherished Memories"

in #writing-family6 years ago (edited)

Amaryllis 2014.jpg

My pride and joy, my legacy from my mother,
(or one of them, she taught me so much.)
Mama had at one time 40 pots with Amaryllis bulbs, (pictured)
That had to be brought in and placed in our basement,
Pretty much "in the dark" all winter long.

Come towards the spring,
I would start looking to see if a bloom head, or a leaf tip was beginning to show.
In either case,
It meant to start watering.
If the leaf tip came first, that bulb
Would not bloom that year.

We had no shortages of blooms.
SDC11307.JPG

I did not get this bulb from mama, but from a friend.
It’s been mine since ’07, and so far, has bloomed every
Year.
So in this way,
Mama is still with me, in the Spring of the year, and
Always in my heart and my mind/memories.

I wish that she had lived
Longer to see the changes I've made in my life,
or
That I had made those changes earlier, but
Like the old saying goes, wish in one
Hand, and spit in the other, see
Which one gets full fastest.
Cherish your loved ones.
Keep their memories
Close to your heart
And Clear in your
Mind; you need
And deserve it.

“Cherished Memories”

by
Jerry E Smith
©10/15/15

This is an ORIGINAL PHOTO @steemcleaners


These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks




Sort:  

I so agree... cherish your loved ones all the time, every time... Sometimes it may not be easy, but all the time, it is worth your while. Lovely blooms, Jerry... It's a lovely reminder of your mum!

very nice post.....
beautiful lines..

Thank you @himanshurajoria... man that's a handful of name
To type out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69183.52
ETH 3807.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71