CONTEST: Write the Scene! - Week 1

in #writethesceneweek17 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

My goodness, it's been a while! Since my last post I've (1) moved from Austin to California with my fiancee, (2) dropped out of my PhD program, and (3) started a business with a friend. Phew! Needless to say, I'm still a bit overwhelmed, but I'm hoping to feel settled-in by mid-September and back to posting on Steemit regularly. During this crazy, hectic month I've been thinking about different projects I want to do on Steemit. This post is about one of those projects.


Welcome to Write the Scene! A weekly, writing competition. I have been getting into writing recently and wanted a way to explore this hobby more. The premise is this:

Every week, I will upload a post with a very simple and short prompt. To enter the competition, write a scene (as short or as long as you like) following the prompt and post it. Also, please add a sentence about this competition and link this post in it. Add the tag writethesceneweek(number) (For this week you would add the tag writethesceneweek1)

Each week I will award 5 STEEM. 3 STEEM will be awarded for the submission I consider to be the best, and the other 2 I will distribute to other entries however I want. If you've always wanted to write but never knew where to start, consider this the perfect opportunity! Grab a drink, open up a text editor, and flex those imagination muscles!

WEEK 1 PROMPT


A man is crying on a park bench with an opened letter folded on his lap. A woman takes a seat next to him.


If you have any questions or suggestions about this contest, please post them in the comments below!

Good luck!

Sort:  

Do we tag it as "#writethesceneweek1" or "writethesceneweek1"

"writethesceneweek1" I've seen the '#' added to specify a tag before, so that's how I wrote it. Thanks for the question!

Gave it a shot - hopefully I tagged it right.

Thanks for entering! To help spread the word, do you mind putting in a short sentence about this contest and a link to this post that has the prompt. Thanks!

Done.

done! good luck everyone

Thanks for entering! Please see my comment to @awellrunlife above.

By the way, the contest this week will end on Thursday night (California time) and a new prompt will be given that night for week 2 which will run until Sunday, August 27th.

Oooo!!! Interesting! I'm gonna have to jump in on this . . . I missed this one. Will look for others. Thanks, Travis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44