Entertaining Myself With Writer's Block

in #writersblock7 years ago

Confession: I have a HUGE case of writer's block.

The definition of "writer's block" 

 writer's blockphrase of writer

  1. 1.the condition of being unable to think of what to write or how to proceed with writing.


My mind jumps from story idea to story idea and like a seed that never sprouts, the stories slip away.  I found some meme's and tips on writer's block.


Unoriginal content below: 


https://goinswriter.com/how-to-overcome-writers-block/

 It happens to every writer. It’s inevitable. Your prose has turned to mush, you don’t have a creative bone left in your body, and you want to throw in the towel. 



http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/guide-to-literary-agents/7-ways-to-overcome-writers-block

 1.) Step away from whatever you’re writing and do anything that’s creative. Paint pictures, write poetry, design images in Photoshop, make a scrapbook or collage, or if you’re masculine, build something in the garage. Work on another creative project for a few hours or days and then go back to writing. When I’m stuck, I paint paintings or work on my website or blog. Jumping to other projects really activates my creativity. The key is to keep exercising the creative part of your brain and eventually you’ll tap back into the flow of writing. 


It's true...  I have nothing today.  It is a good thing this is social media and not Creative Writing 101.

Sort:  

I hear you! I occasionally do freelance writing, which involves deadlines and limited time to produce something. One thing that's worked well for me was to spend around 15 minutes playing one of those spatially oriented computer games like FarmTown or Candy Crush, then go back to the writing.

hmm, interesting. I may try that. :)

Best thing I can think of is to just step away from the keyboard.

I "write" most of my best stuff while I am cooking dinner. Or mowing the lawn. Or folding laundry. Or grocery shopping. That's why I always carry a small pad and a pen with me... it's a kind of "non-parallel thinking" thing (there's a scientific name for it, but it eludes me); our creativity is triggered by NOT thinking about what we're trying to think about...

So, true. Then my challenge is to remember the great idea I had while mowing the lawn. :)

I had a bad case of writer's block a while ago when I was working on my book. I could not get past a chapter and every time I thought about it I just couldn't bring myself to deal. Then one night I woke up with an a-ha moment! It was the chapter that was killing the story! I realized the thing I was sweating about wasn't moving the story forward -- literally. Once I did that, the words started to flow again. Good luck with your writer's block. I say, skip that part and continue on. Don't stop writing. Just write something different. :)

Excellent tip! Thank you, funny as soon as I posted this post it cleared my mind for another. Yes, regarding a topic I don't write about much.

Hope it clears up soon. try to write a haiku.
Always cheers me up.

Sometimes events in life lead to your mind not being ready to write. I'm not the fastest writer anyway but there are times I draw a blank so just wait for the voices to come back.

The voices.. lol. I think of it like that as well.

I have been there, and I have been there, the only thing I can do is to step away and I find the words eventually do come.

I'm not a professional writer, but I do write occasionally. When I was writing for this particular website in the past, I did have some terrible cases of writer's block. What I did was either go out and walk, as it helps my brain work better, or just keep writing, eventually ideas will come up. Reading also helped.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97