Sort:  

Thank you! This story actually grew out of Carol's prompt about just barely remembering something and a dream I had when I was pregnant with my first child. I dreamt I answered a call that went very much like that. The man on the other end acted as if we knew one another and sounded familiar but I couldn't quite place him. The "I like that green thing..." line is right from the dream, as is his presence inside the house (classic horror movie trope that needed some work to avoid being trite). The rest, of course,​ is invented, but the nightmare made for a good seed I think. It was so chilling and realistic that I awoke in false labor and spent the rest of my pregnancy so afraid to sleep I began having auditory hallucinations from sleep deprivation lol.

Just goes to show even the shit life throws at you can be useful down the road ;)

@jrhughes,
I’m with you on that. Funny how that is true on so many levels, isn’t it?

@Lymmerik

I'm fascinated to hear about the seed of your story. Isn't it interesting that the most convincing stories seem to draw on personal experience?

It is. In my experience taking a small thing and just examining it in the light of "What if?" can be the very best springboard for fiction :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35