A sad day in memory

in #writers6 years ago

On this very day last year April 10, 2016

I remember badoo guys invaded ikorodu, on a broad sunny afternoon particularly odogunyan. Killing families like insects, bursting children 's head with grinding stones. I felt my whole world had fallen,because the house that experienced death that week was close to mine.
I went to the house earlier that day of the incident and saw the scattered head and running blood of little a little soul.

The whole generation of a family was just cleared out the face of the earth.

Ice chill walked my born marrows as I saw this.

I felt I was dead already,and whenever I saw my sister or brother I just say "Thank you for being here with me", with tears.

We suffered days of sleepless night with pestles, machetes, or turning garri always on our hands.

Afternoon became our night.
Afternoon became darkness.
Afternoon became strong.

The fumes of burnt tyres which was suppose to be toxic to the soul now has become a perfume for to our soul .

my hopes ran fast away from me those days, thoughts of killing myself sets in often .

I sometimes hold my breath and forget it,
Point a knife to myself.
Or find a poison.

Day in day out we check in the ceiling to check if anyone was hiding up there.
Cause that was their main hide out.

Waking up any day I find the courage to sleep,
I wake to see,
Innocent guys, guilty, and guys being lynched.
Priest harassed while going for mass. I see alot of things,
Blood,
Blood
Fire,
Burns.

To add to it my elder sister was having a leg complication which have left her on bed for months.
Thoughts of how would she escape if those bad guys comes in.
Will they see her tears and spare her?

My hopes were drenched.

Depression became my brother.
Moodswings my sister.

Rebecca Okereke I still Thank you. No one knew what was happening to me except you.

A friend said "it would be selfish of me to die"

And so many others.

But not now again.

Community policing helped alot.

Light I point your way.
All will be gone soon.

Just left in memories.

Sort:  

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts and to be recommended, reply with STOP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76