You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Writers...Download Your FREE Copy of "HOW TO PROMOTE YOUR BOOK"

in #writers5 years ago

@ericvancewalton, do you mean the best option in terms of self-publishing or the best option overall?
And if it's the best option overall (even over traditional publishing), why? I'm very curious :)

Sort:  

I just meant best option in terms of overall advice on book promotion. I believe self-publishing is the best option for most authors at any stage in their career.

I was traditionally published once and vowed to never go that route again. I received zero marketing help from the publisher and had to end up doing all of the marketing myself anyway. There were other negatives as well like lack of final say over the book cover and retail price . The cover is so important because it provides the first impression of your book and there's a definite "sweet spot" when it comes to setting a retail price....if it's priced to low it makes readers think your book isn't worth reading....too high and they won't buy either.

Yes, I've read such stories online, about the publisher not doing anything for the book and the lack of final say scares me, honestly. But I do think anything should be tried once (except for like the dangerous stuff :D). Yes, you are so right about the cover, I've come to see that in the past few months, from observing how other readers interact with books. It's always the ones with the great covers that get all the attention, which is worth remembering.

It's certainly an interesting opinion :) I'm quite curious to see if I will come to a similar conclusion later on. In any case, I always appreciate the advice :)

That was my experience with my small publisher. They did one or two emails to subscribers of their mailing list with links to the book and that was the extent of it. You are smart to try it for yourself, each publisher is different and you might "hit the jackpot" and have a wonderful experience. If not, it'll be something you can learn from. You win either way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.83
ETH 3499.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81