You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BALANCING THE BOOKS - A Financial Plan For The Indie Author (Part 2 of 2)

in #writers8 years ago

If you're an aspiring novelist or creative nonfiction writer, I'd seriously advise against posting advertising or Adsense on your website. This type of thing cheapens the author's branding and his/her platform. (I used to work as a copy editor and social media manager for a literary agency and I don't recall any of our award-winning writers having ads on their websites unless you count links from their books to Amazon.) I just checked out the websites of a few of my favourite authors: Mary Karr, Paul Auster, Pico Iyer.....no, none of them have trashy ads cluttering up their professional pages.

Sort:  

I wholeheartedly agree that Adsense is a bad idea for authors who are already established. For indie authors looking for an additional income stream I think it still makes sense if it's tastefully integrated, I would embed no more than one or two ads and only at a webpage footer or a place of less prominence.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60860.94
ETH 2672.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62