You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Draft, Edit, Submit #03: A Deluge of Drafts

in #writer6 years ago

I can’t just draft. I always rework things as I go along. If I’m lucky, I’ll get three paragraphs written, but as soon as I stop to think, I start scrolling up with my eyes and changing things. Even when I look back at finished pieces, I start changing things right away. It’s pretty much constant rewriting for me.

Sort:  

As long as it doesn't stop you! With stories, when I used that approach, I got stuck rewriting the first parts; I had to learn to let go and just draft the whole thing and rewrite/edit later, before I forget where I'm going.

I often feel like I get stuck/linger on beginnings. Eventually, though, I let go and move on. Then I get stuck on the next part. I guess it doesn’t stop me. But it certainly makes progress slow.

We all have different internal editors and we find what's best for us. If you didn't edit during draft, you'd have to rewrite/edit a lot more later anyway probably.

That’s probably true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72