If you are a writer you may relate to this...

in #writer7 years ago (edited)

When you first become a writer

You lose your stable self

Your purse becomes much lighter

And your friends sit on the shelf


The Hermit life awaits

As you ponder on your thoughts

Your stories await their fates

Whilst your family imagine all sorts


You've lost your  mind
You'll never make it big
I'm saying this to be kind
It's not just a hurtful dig


It's hurtful, I must admit

To hear what you say

But I really don't give a s**t

I'll be a best seller...one day


Oh wake up and smell the coffee
Your head is in the clouds
Your brain's stuck like toffee
You're not going to get the crowds


One day you won't think I'm dumb

And then you will eat your words

But no need to worry, I will give you some

After all, I have many...they come in herds


I'm only trying to be kind
I want you to do well
I'm only watching your behind
You don't want to be shamed to hell


Listen up... buttercup

I'm happy as I am 

So take my ambition and lap it up


I REALLY DON'T GIVE A DAMN!


Ever felt like erupting...be honest?






Sort:  

Actually I have heard those words all my life ... why I left home and ventured out on my own. Had to get away from all the negativity.

upvoted and resteemed

Thank you :-) Yes, it's hard to plough through negativity, but you have some really good writing, so keep at it.

Wow I can so relate to this. "YOu don't just become an artist in your 30's" "You have to be lucky to make a career from art" "You don;t know the right people" - been working full time as an artist now for over 3 years :) Keep writing, keep sharing,keep submitting. Eventually the results will not be debatable :)

Yey...well done you ! Will follow you to see your story :-)

hahaha, yes, maybe is not a career... I love the text I feel identified. Thank you for share it!

Yeah ..I also . ..
So great poetry ..
Thats amazing ..
Carry on...Best of luck ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63441.26
ETH 2477.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64