#writedaily Challenge - Day 8steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writedaily7 years ago (edited)

Details of the #writedaily challenge here


Day 8 - "Epochal"

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 9.17.29 PM.png

It's not really day 8, but it's the 8th day.


The curtain was flowing. The wind made a sail of it next to the open window.

Light pushed against shadow on the bathroom floor. They competed for space endlessly, unaware that the wind had set it in motion.

I looked at it mindlessly, sitting on the lid-down toilet. I'd been clipping my toenails. I noted careless breaks in the nails that hadn't mattered until I noticed them. Just the same, I noticed my legs had become numb from sitting for too long when I stood up. I walked around in small circles until my circulation filled them with sensation again.

From one thing to another, my attention shifted around like a bouncing ball of rubber bands. One would fling off, catapulting me into a thought I hadn't expected.

I landed on one that I first thought pointless. I could be thinking and doing anything right now, but I am walking in circles in my bathroom because I stared too long at the curtain.

Nevermind, it was pointless. But, I realized, I decided the meaning.

Wasn't it true? The light fights the dark for space. Or does the dark fight the light, filling it with nothing? Does the wind care what it set in motion?

Now that was stupid, I judged.

It was the same war. I was on one side throwing myself at the other, not realizing two numbed hands of the same body were wrestling ridiculously to no end. The wall between trivial and epochal crumbled upon observation, and I wondered what line I had to cross before breaching insanity.

I decide, I decided.


follow rmac

Sort:  

Congratulations @rmac! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56652.41
ETH 2407.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33