#writedaily Challenge - Day 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writedaily7 years ago (edited)

Details of the #writedaily challenge here


Day 1: "Radius"


radius.png


It was not always like this.

I remember when the path was hostile, plagued by roots catching my feet off guard. I tripped, often. My knees often wore the fresh dark purple of nearly dried blood.

That was the halfway point. I have to remind myself that I was there for it. I used to trip often. The shining scar on my left knee got there somehow.

What I do not remember is when I started walking. Before I found any path, I know there was at time I was just... there. There was a time before words could convolute the meaning of things. I was young enough once -- green and unripened. I lacked the ability to judge the world as hostile or benevolent.

So, here I am now. I might have progressed a bit past the constant striving. I see the roots that once tripped me and simply slow down to walk over them.

Still, I long for that perfect naivety. I long to come full circle to the state that predated my judgment.

My mind has become a powerful filter, placing experiences into ever tidier boxes based on my experiences and assumptions. It might be time to mourn that naivety. It might be too late to reclaim it.

How could I complain though? Like I said, things were once hostile. Now, each day is more positive than the last. The path forward is becoming less clouded.

I cannot help but wonder if I am forever circling perfection, like the point drawn by a compass as it creates a perfect circle.

As the pencil rounds the middle, does it ever wonder if it could be that dot around which it orbits? Looking at it from an insurmountable parameter, does it wonder if it can transcend that distance and end its ceaseless and fruitless circling?

Does it ever want to just be still -- a motionless, content dot resting in the center?

Does it yearn for a world that does not understand the word, radius?


⚡️ Follow me for more ⚡️

writing daily.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @rmac! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56588.25
ETH 2399.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32