Write Daily Word of the Day - RadiussteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writedaily7 years ago

The radius of a circle is pi*R^2 the teacher was saying. My mind immediately went to the pies my Mom sent me when I was in boot camp. We were allowed to get packages, but we had to open them in front of everyone and the package usually received the Jim Carrey UPS treatment. My mom was careful, though. She put the Hostess fruit pies in a tin with some cookies and cash.

The box came. I opened it. It opened the tin. And those pies were mush! Plus, they bled all over cookies and cash. They tasted good, though. After 4 weeks of Navy slop I was in heaven.

Day 1 of 21

Sort:  

I recently was trying do some basic mathematics on cylindrical shapes and I was using a 2" circle as an example. A 2" circle has the area of Pi. Right then my friend said well "shut your pie hole!" I enjoyed your pie story. The radius of a circle = d/2 that teacher was trying to trick ya!

Ach! All those years napping in maths class and out comes a bad formula!

Cool to have a quick window into your navy bootcamp, and I dig the matter of fact style of writing. looking forward to the next one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35