You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Publisher Spotlight: Blue Cubicle Press

in #writeclub6 years ago

Great find Tangle!

I like the idea of having the first line written for me. It seems so nice and pleasant to have the pressure of that over-examined first line lifted. But for some reason I have some sort of aversion to having my last line written for me. Can't really say why, but it feels strange.

But that's me. You've outlined four magazines here, and I think there's a lot of potential for the group to write towards. I actually think it would be great to have Blue Cubical dictate one or two of the queues for Lite Club prompts, if other people would be into that.

Judging by the content produced in Write Club, I'd say we'd have a good home in Worker's Write. Decent length. Relatively open concepts. Most of our characters have jobs. What's not to love?

As far as the pay goes, I actually find the lack of pay encouraging. We're all relatively new to this. It seems to me that starting with the little guys like Blue Cubicle might be a great way to get that portfolio of published work established. I'm with @caleblailmusik, getting the name out seems far more important at this point.

Sort:  

I agree, the first-sentence promt can be very inspiring. Especially if it is not too long or has too much of a voice that doesn't fit you. I had that once for a contest I participated in, a couple of paragraphs to start it off, and I had a really hard time, until I found out you could re-write some of it.

Anyway, I'm definitely in favor of doing a Lite Club prompt with one. And letting people choose from the several first lines would also make it open for anyone to join in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67705.30
ETH 3767.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73