The Weekend Free write- 7/14/2018 - Motivated Employee

in #write6 years ago

Hello,

Below is you will find my very first attempt at The Weekend Freewrite challenge from @mariannewest.
I tried to be true to the challenge as best as I could. I wrote for the time limit and did not go back and edit. Which can be a scary thing when your use to editing your work before it goes to the public. but, for this, I cast off that inner critic and allowed my mind to wonder. I did have fun writing this and will participate in it again next weekend- Enjoy

Motivated Employee

I turned. Mr Hallaron walked over. He'd put his hat on and was pulling a pack of cigarettes out of his pocket. He wore his vice like a shear veil draped over a mirror. No, not the cigarettes, although that is another story. It was the hat, the damn hat of his that never left his head or the prime spot on a hat rack like the most notable icon on the Tatum pole.

“Good evening Mr. Hallaron” I said trying not to sound to nervous. “Leaving us already?”

“”You know me Janey, no time for Long goodbyes when there’s work to do.”

It’s amazing what one can convince himself to do when that task is simply referred to as work. “es, yes I suppose that never quite goes away does it?” He gave me the typical response. A sideways glance that suggested that I talked to much… maybe I did.

The door slid open soundlessly, revealing the complete and utter chaos that I had been sent to fix. It’s times like this I am glad I am a procrastinator. It’s like one of those mythical problem everyone wished they had, you know the Kind that take care of themselves. You see Mr Hallaron should have never gotten this far and certainly never put on his hat but no matter, the bosses won’t care once the deed is done.

And so my “other task” found Mr. Hallaron all on their own, as I knew they would. You may think its me passing the buck but let me ask you? Can you imaging an better hit man then a brain washed motivational coach? Hells no! Once a challenge is presented to them… well it gets done.

OK OK,So maybe I played the role of “host girl” a bit to long. Maybe I laked that simple life, if only for a brief moment in time. Well that time is over. Now I have two targets to “take care of” but as I said this might just take care of its self.

You see Mr Hallaron, my first target, thinks hes this slick man in black kinds hit man but he only accepts jobs that require him to take out family pet of of wealthy business people. Something about prying on their emotional side prior to a meeting…. Something like that.

The phone began to ring. Should I answer it? Probably not. It’s most likely my bosses asking if the tasks have been dealt with it. You know, they never care for my response because I will flat out say “yeah, Mr Hallaron and Mr. Jones have been dealt with, killed, taken out, murdered… you hear that Tom Wilde… “ thats when they tend to hang up, you see they believe that certain words should never be uttered over the phone. And I see their point from their respective.

But what do I care what they want anymore? Sure, I am obligated to carry out their tasks for a bit longer but that dose not mean I have to be their employee of the month.

Sort:  

Wow, I truly enjoyed this! I hope you continue writing and that you stay with us awhile at the Freewrite House. Welcome to the family! Again, I'm glad you decided to take up the challenge.

I will definitely stick around. Thanks

Nice opening round. I guess not all hit people are the same. :-))

It's amazing what writers can come up with under time constraints :-)

Join us at the Freewrite House - lots of fun contests :)
Welcome to the Freewriters

Welcome to the Freewriters!! That was a fun read!!

Please drop a link to your post in the comment section of the final prompt - that way I, and other freewriters, can find your work. Also, join us at the Freewrite House! @freewritehouse

Good morning. You are my sunshine ❤️
I am here to bring you the newest prompt - and to remind you to join the We-write Contest at the Freewrite House. This time, you finish a story @freedomtowrite started.
Make your own post and drop the link or leave your part in the comments.

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62647.29
ETH 2439.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66