5 Reasons Why the Book ‘Wrinkle in Time’ Deserves Your Attention

in #wrinkleintime6 years ago (edited)

AWrinkleinTime-1.jpg

I love reading the book before watching a movie based on it. I am excited to share with you five reasons why I find this book very interesting. Before I watch a movie ‘Wrinkle in Time’ directed by Ava DuVernay with a great cast that includes all the leaders of Me Too movement, I want to show you my vision of the book. It boosted my imagination, showed me new worlds. This is my favorite kind of books - a sci-fi on the edge of being a fairy tale.

Reason One
The author Madelene L’Engle was inspired by the ideas of Einstein (I love Albert Einstein <3<3<3). If you are familiar with his relativity theory, you probably have heard of the fourth dimension which is time. Time may allow us to go beyond the three-dimensional world, see more and even travel back and forth within it. Still a concept (from what I know). Madelene bravely went further and created a fifth dimension, which she called tesseract. It is so called wrinkle in time, a shortcut that will give you freedom in traveling in time and space (not limited to the solar system).
Einstein’s theory wasn’t accepted right away, and for a while, although he became a well-known scientist, the idea of the fourth dimension remained mostly unnoticed by a scientific society. But clearly, dreamers were inspired by it. Thanks to Einstein soon after his death Madelene created this wonderful story. By the way, it took several decades before the book was welcomed in the literary world.

Reason Two
I was born in a post-soviet country. So I know a feeling of communism. In the 90s it was still in the air. So the moment main characters landed on the planet of Camazotz, I felt like home. Identical houses, same behavior, fear of being different, the political system that controls everything and gets into everyone's minds.
It is surprising how sometimes a book for kids (first impression on Wrinkle in Time) can have so many allegories and hidden symbols. So if you are into Animal Farm or 1984, you may like this one too. Although Wrinkle in Time is much more formidable and fairy taly (not sure if it is a word, but I hope you get it).

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 19.48.11.png

Reason Three
This book portrays peculiar main characters. I couldn’t help it but fall in love with Charles Walles and Meg - siblings that were considered retarded by society. But in reality, they possessed unique talents. They were different. And for that reason, no one bothered to do extra work and see who they are.
The charm and intelligence they possessed blew me away. What I loved the most were Meg’s weaknesses that turned out to be her only weapon against darkness. This is very common in our world. Sometimes people are not appreciated for the charming imperfections. They are being criticised for them. This book shows you that there is nothing in you that you have to hate. You are wonderful with your imperfections. And at a certain point, they may even be handy. This is an interesting concept. Flaws make us weak, but they also make us unique. They give an extraordinary perception of the world. Embracing it is a big deal. The moment you see it as your uniqueness and beauty, it will turn into a strength.
I want to touch-base the concept of love in the book. In many movies and books, we see love as something powerful. It makes you strong and invincible… I’ve always felt differently. Loving someone means taking a risk, opening yourself, your life to someone. You are very vulnerable in this position. Because you don’t know how the other person will use this freedom. The phrase ‘power of love’ is ubiquitous, it may be considered an idiom. Love is not a power. To love is to be vulnerable. And it is only in vulnerability and risk, not safety and security that we overcome darkness.

Reason Four
This book promotes education and value of knowledge. Main characters grow through science, they talk about Einstein, geography, literature, chemistry. They do it not for the grades (as a matter of fact, many people think they are dumb). But they do it out of curiosity, out of a desire to know. Part of learning is significant in every person’s life. Age, IQ, nationality, social status don’t matter. Curiosity is the key. It is another concept that echoes with Einstein’s vision of the world. It is clear that the author was influenced and inspired by the scientist.
For that reason, this book is an excellent reminder for adults to continue intellectual growth, and for kids to take this path.

Reason Five
Right now you can watch ‘Wrinkle in Time’ in theatres. I think it is a perfect match. First, you read a book and imagine the world and then you compare it to the one that Ava DuVernay created. I wouldn’t recommend better time to read this book.
It won’t take much of your time. If you like me live in a big city and spend much time driving, I recommend getting an audiobook.

Wrinkle in Time allowed me to travel to new yet undiscovered worlds. It made me dream. And it also reminded me of love, intelligence, kindness, loyalty - about being human.
I hope I sold this book to you, dear reader.
I’d appreciate a vote and a comment. Let me know if you liked this post. Share your ideas on what you want to know.
Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42