Shot from Space

in #wrestling7 years ago (edited)

"God's Gift" Jeremiah Vastrix. Playboy son of Micheal Vastrix, CEO of the Warhammer Corporation.

Jeremiah has one sister and two older brothers, the older brothers having passed on in "industrial accidents". This being the cover up for Micheal's paranoia that his children will one day murder him for his position as he had done to his own father.

A few years ago after spending years staying away from being involved in the company business (in order to not be murdered by his own father), his father decided that he should learn all of the aspects of the business to be able to take over for when he finally retired.

This leads us to now as Jeremiah Vastrix walks down the sidewalk with Rose Johnston at his side.

ROSE JOHNSTON: Why are you returning to wrestling, Mr. Vastrix?

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: I needed a break from all of the corporate espionage. Besides, I think my father is waxing paranoid again.

Rose frowns as they walk, seeing Jeremiah duck down a small alleyway, and following.

ROSE JOHNSTON: What are we doing?

Jeremiah just smirks, leading Rose down the alleyway.

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: Nothing. Nothing at all.

ROSE JOHNSTON: Oh, alright. So, your opponent in the first round is Jordon Shadows. What do you think of him?

An angry shout as a woman on the street is shoved out of the way reaches their ears. Jeremiah wraps an arm around Rose's shoulders to prevent her from looking back, and begins to walk with her at a faster pace.

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: I don't think too much of him honestly. He hasn't even provided a bio for the company to be able to sell him to the public. How does one get known that way?

ROSE JOHNSTON: I'm sure it probably isn't being caught by TMZ two knuckles deep in Olivia Cooke in the back of the Aurora?

Jeremiah chuckles, clutching Rose tighter, and walking even faster.

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: Olivia and I are engaged! I know it makes you sad that the most eligible bachelor in history has been snagged, but it had to happen one day. I mean we were a bit...brazen that night, but we were both a bit wasted.

Rose Johnston stops, dragging Jeremiah to a stop as well.

ROSE JOHNSTON: What the heck are we running from?

Jeremiah doesn't answer, but shoves Rose behind a dumpster while following. A gunshot cracks, echoing off of the close walls. Rose lets out a scream of fright.

ROSE JOHNSTON: What the fuck?

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: Remember my saying that I thought my father's paranoia was waxing? He sends the occasional assassin. Sometimes to harden me and sometimes to kill me. I never know how hard they're going to come after me.

Jeremiah reaches into his jacket, drawing a revolver. He peeks around the corner of the dumpster, aims, and-

Click, click

Jeremiah ducks back behind the dumpster before several bullets cross through where his head was just at. He pops the magazine out, looks at it, and then puts the revolver away.

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: Well that's problematic.

ROSE JOHNSTON: Who carries a weapon around with no ammo?

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: I forgot to reload it?

ROSE JOHNSTON: What now?

Jeremiah gets out his smart phone and dials.

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: Hey, Victor. Can you do me a favor? I'm in a bit of a pickle.

A man dressed in black from head to toe with a black ski mask rounds the corner with a heavy revolver in hand that he points at Jeremiah's head. Jeremiah just holds up a finger to let the man know that he needs to wait. The man looks to Rose Johnston, who just shrugs.

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: Yeah, I'm in that kind of a pickle. When am I not? You remember when I helped you with that blue haired hottie in Rio last year? That's what I thought.

The man in the mask nudges the side of Jeremiah's head with the barrel of the gun.

ROSE JOHNSTON: Jeremiah. Do you think that now is really the time to be talking on the phone?

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: Hang on a second.

Jeremiah looks back at Rose with a wink before regarding the man in the mask.

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: I'm working on a deal to land the first corporate colonies on the Moon and Mars. If my father sent you to kill me, you think that it can wait until once I've secured the deal?

The man in the black mask doesn't say anything, but he does back up a step, and lowers the gun a little.

Jeremiah smiles and goes back to the phone call.

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: In position? Don't keep me waiting, Vic!

Man in the Mask: Get off the phone so you can die.

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: One more moment, please.

There's a streak of fire in the sky seen before the sonic boom is felt. Something tears through the man in the mask's chest and slams into the ground to leave a hole. Presumably, the projectile keeps on going to depths unknown.

The man in the mask staggers a moment, most of his torso empty. He collapses into a pile of broken flesh.

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: That was amazing. I would call it even between us. Fine! I owe you one. Later.

Jeremiah hangs up the phone and puts it away, smiling at Rose.

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: See? Problem solved.

Rose Johnston glances at the crumbled corpse as she walks over to the hole in the ground.

ROSE JOHNSTON: What just happened?

Jeremiah walks to stand next to her, looking down.

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: If I tell you, this cannot go out. Warhammer Security has developed a network of satellites that are equipped with railgun sniper rifles essentially. The bullet has an ablative coating when it's fired correctly so that it burns off instead of burning up the bullet. It's only used in emergencies and under the direction of Warhammer Security CEO, Victor Greystone. Yes, with current imaging software and computer targeting, anyone walking outside can be shot, and it'll look like a meteor strike.

ROSE JOHNSTON: That is rather scary.

JEREMIAH VASTRIX: This is something that happens quite often. I normally have ammo or hidden bodyguards. I seem to be without both today. You seem pretty shaken up. Why don't I buy you a drink at the Aurora? I'll tell you all about the dozen or so different wrestling styles that I've half learned before being kicked out.

Rose stares at the hole in the ground and shakes her head with a smile.

ROSE JOHNSTON: Why not?

Sort:  

Congratulations @vastrix! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58793.48
ETH 2508.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44