Sort:  

I guess what I meant was the act of confronting our own contradictions, conflictions, depression and motivations, like, actually looking inside ourselves, and then cutting ourselves open so we can show it off to other people. That's brave in it's own right.
But I understand what you mean. I find it hard to justify discussing my own issues and struggles when they're held up to those of others who have suffered so much worse. But like the La Dispute album "Wildlife," the whole album is him trying to come to terms with his own depression and lack of faith because he caught his girlfriend cheating on him when a boy was shot for no reason, a woman lost her child to cancer, and a father was stabbed 27 times by his schizophrenic son, and all these cases found strength to move on, believe in God, and smile. The next to last song sums it up by saying "We all hurt in our own ways," that we "All at one point come to suffer." (Not a direct quote.) Talking about your own thoughts or feelings when others struggle too seems to counteract our humility and boosts our ego somehow, but in reality we are teaching others to live and showing them that, yeah, it gets hard and we're a little messed up over what we've been through, but there's strength to move on and passion to be found in ourselves that we can give to each other.
My God, I rambled.
You know what I'm saying.
Love,
Caleb <3

Fair enough, Caleb. And you are right, of course. <3

I don't have to be right. It's whatever :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60696.93
ETH 2638.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61