When Your Mind is Higher than You.

in #wpchallenge7 years ago

DQmasoRgwyk42WqxZsKURRWP4y1iZT6JdA68fCkxct969MU.png
SOURCE

This is where poets dream and cry
Where big dreams scream as they die
I'm tormented by my fantasy
And resenting my reality

I walk through the valley of impossibility while my mind dwells in the hill of possibility. My mind is a vehicle, the carriage of my dreams. It is the reckless illusionist that makes the impossible seem possible, tormenting me with wild dreams and sending me on wild goose chases.

I make shots in the dark!

My mind is higher than I am. My thoughts are farther than I can stretch. My mind is in the future and my body finds itself stuck in the present, still reminiscing about the past. My dreams seem too big to be accomplished. I know what I want but not how to get it. I know where I'm going but not how to get there.

I try to chase my dream but my body lets me down
And when I scream the words won't come out
I feel like a king without a golden crown
Or a boxer that has never fought a single bout.

I feel incomplete, lacking something. I know what the end should be like but I lack the means to an end. It's like knowing the end of a movie but lacking knowledge of how it climaxed and developed. In the end, I'm just stuck in the middle of something. I know where I'm coming from and where I'm going to. Do I know where I am?

Frustration sets in
All seems bleak
It's a dark setting
Nothing seems to click

I'm lost in the desert of my own thoughts and I'm drowning in the sea of my wishes. I see possibilities in impossibility and yet impossibility drowns me.

I'm buried in sandcastles,
The same ones I built as a tot
Fantasies and dreams built this castle
With my far lying thought

I'm drowning in a sea of impossibilities
Hoping hopelessly with hope against all hope
Believing in confounding possibilities
I hold on to the short end of a rope

In the end I discover that I am my own problem. I'm my own malady. My dreams are not too big to be achieved and I may not have what I need to get to where I'm going but first I need to discover and appreciate where i am and what I have before I get to where am going and get what I want.

Here is the conclusion
Hear my resolution!
I'm the cause of my own frustration
Being blinded by the need to create a revolution
I've forgotten my evolution

How From nothing, I morphed
Into what I am today
From nowhere, I surged
Into where I am today

So in the end I'm grateful for the friends I have, the communities I'm a part of and even the community I'm creating. I'm grateful for the little I have. I'll no longer regret what I've lost. I'm at the place where poets dream and cry and yes I've dreamt and cried because my mind is bigger than me. But I will cry no more. I'll only dream.

Dreams are a sign of life. The day stop dreaming I stop living.

This poem is dedicated to all my steemit friends and followers and every community I belong to. @sirsticks, @tony-duke, @stevenson7, @mizdais, @alisonudeme, @ewuoso, the #steembees family and every other person. Thanks for being an intergral part of my steemit journey.

I promise that I won't give up on my dreams. Let the poetic-surge surge on.

I am the teen with steam for steem and I have a dream

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

Great imagery, very compelling structure. Keep dreaming!

Thanks. .. I won't stop dreaming

I feel like I went on a tumultuous ride through your mind. Yet your thoughts were conveyed regarding the theme of this challenge. @ajremy. Thank you for your entry.

yes. I really did try to infuse poetry into this essay of what I feel. The theme is something I can relate with so it really created a spark

Amazing stuff bro

Thanks bro.. you guys keep me dreaming

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60745.88
ETH 2640.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56