Worrying does more harm than not...

in #worry7 years ago

Why do we worry about every little thing that is not completely under our control? As humans, time seems to be often spent looking into the future rather than focusing on the present, and that is our downfall. One of many, that is. Worrying is not always our worst enemy though. It is instinctive to worry about things we cannot control necessarily.

When I begin to worry about something such as my work day tomorrow, exercising, money or people I find myself not focusing on me. My health, mental state, my emotions should come first but I cannot help it. Eventually I begin to realize that all the crying, short breaths, and negative thoughts will not be stronger than me. It is sort of an internal process that begins then.

Taking a few deep, slow breaths are my first step followed by telling myself out loud to calm down and relax. Sometimes literally saying "STOP" helps me. A walk is beneficial as well. It is important to allow myself to go through these emotions and feel what they bring me, but not in a damaging way. When I am able to calm down and relax again, it is such a relief.

I just felt like writing what was on my mind, whether you are reading the end of this or have clicked off by this point thank you for being here and on Steemit. The community feels so genuine and what the Internet was meant to be.

Thanks all,
Callie

@Dearcallie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56465.77
ETH 2331.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36