Worms:- Some basic info for you to start at home.

in #worms7 years ago

16617175-earthworms-macro.jpg

I started with1 worm farm 6-7 years ago. Now have 4.

Some interesting facts:-

  • A small investment in 1000 worms will turn into 20,000 in one year.
  • In the right conditions they multiply every 6 weeks.
  • They will not over populate, as they only breed into the space allowed. So you can take some out and they will replenish.
  • They eat most organic waste - (not meat or dairy) - This includes paper and cardboard. (Carbon)
  • They produce a by-product called Casings (their Shit) and this is the most powerful fertiliser on the planet and you can make it at home.
  • They also wee too. This is a liquid fertiliser that needs to be diluted 10/1 with water and can be added to your plants. Good for growth and assists in pest control if applied to the foliage.

I am about to start a You Tube channel going over all things worms as I have to harvest my 4 farms soon as Summer is approaching here (Down Under).

Happy to answer any questions you may have in this space.

Help save the world with me, one worm at a time.

Cheers
Gunga

Sort:  

When i clicked this post i was like "surly they dont mean 'worm' worms..." click yep.... 'worm' worms..... WOAH. Thats dope. HOLY SHIT i need to get some worms." Followed :)

Yep worms, They are very powerful, will eat all your scrap food and turn it into GOLD!! Get too it!!

I never knew this about worms. I need a bunch for my garden but I have a question are they also good for fishing? Thanks for sharing

These type of worms don't go to well in the garden, they are eaters and are specifically for a worm farm or compost heap, although a compost heap will get too hot for them and cook them. They eat their weight of food every day, and turn it into GOLD!! They can be used for fishing, so you can breed your own!!

Thank you I will consider trying this.

A small investment in a worm farm and some worms is all you need. No further outlay and they will do the job.....At first you cant overfeed them, slowly at the start and they will breed and you can add more food. Shredded paper for bedding and again slowly slowly, this is pure nature at work.

Thank you I will google some more details.

Hi @gungadin, worm up! I use worm 'castings' (fancy way to say shit..) on all of my plants from seedling to garden bed. I also feed the worms that are already present in my garden. Do you feed yours coffee grounds? I've found they like it..or maybe just caffeine dependent now 😆

I Resteemed and would like to add a link to this article in a new Steemit series if that's ok with you! The series is titled ** to Growing Money in Your Yard Series.** I think it is a lucrative endeavor. I know what I pay for it 75lbs at a time.. Garden gold, my friend. Keep up the great work. Let's work together and grow together

Hi @grow-pro,

Coffee Grounds are fine, just ensure the grounds don't heat up too much as they will burn the worms.

I do appreciate the re-steam and please feel free to spread the word in your new Steemit series.

Happy to answer any questions you may have on this matter.
Cheers
Gunga

Hi @gungadin!
I have edited my recent post to include a feature for your article:
🌱to💰• Growing Money In Your Yard Series • {pt2} • Grow What You Know & How to Find Profitable Opportunities
My goal is to share information like yours and insights from myself and fellow steemit farmers - in order to help more people grow and profit. There are many opportunities to make a living from growing food - everybody eats! Not everyone grows food, so that creates tremendous opportunity.

Excellent work, Gunga! I am so glad to have stumbled upon your article. Keep those worms happy! 😉

Best,
Brandon Holsey

Thanks Brandon,

I will continue to provide articles going over the process and what to do and when to do it. Thanks for your support.

Cheers
Greg Dind

Congratulations @gungadin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Awesome man, I love my worm farm. The thing that amazes and surprised me is that they don't smell. I keep my worm factory in the house and there is never any smell, even from the water that sits in the bottom.

Great to hear, as long as you don't over feed them, and keep up the paper/cardboard, then all is wonderful in that environment.

This post has received a 1.60 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @grow-pro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62860.75
ETH 3112.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86