[Poem] Brown and Beautiful - Happy World Poetry Day!

My journey into writing began with poetry/spoken word. Today I'm going back to my roots


Brown and Beautiful.jpg


Dark but pretty, pretty dark, dusky
Not light enough, try Fair and Lovely
All things I've heard way earlier than I should have
Before I could rock this hue like I could have
From an adolescent with a complex
Now a grown woman with my own flex
I'm tired of walking in colonial footprints
Now I'm rewriting the script, telling it like it is
Shouting it loud in case you can't take a hint
So wake up now and smell the coffee
And if you don't like coffee there's chocolate and toffee
Caramel, mocha, a plethora of brown
Get with the program, put the fairness cream down

Every time I hear Chittiyaan Kalaiyaan a piece of me dies
I need an Asian Formation, a desi Beyhive
Cause I got a Mango Achaar in my bag swag
And I like my baby heir with black hair and brown skin
I like a tan and a healthy dose of melanin
So I'm switching off Kanika and turning up Badshah
Cause Kar Gayi Chull just raised the bar
Paying dues to rang saanvala
I always knew I was a garam maamla
It's just the rest of our race that needed reminding
So step out of the shade, into the light and stop hiding
Come and sit in the sun with me
God knows we need the vitamin D

It's about time we stop the self loathing
Didn't you know that freedom is ours now?
Didn't you know that the empire is done?
So let's build our own to honour ancestors that were kissed by the sun
Where we won't be toned down by anyone
It's not an elite club, there's an open door policy
Light skin sisters are welcome too
But don't expect to rock a yellow saree like we do
It's about time that someone raised the stakes
Diversity is beautiful but let us have our day
To my dark skin ladies there's something I want to say
Be proud, be gorgeous, go out there and slay



#worldpoetryday #beauty #melanin #pride

Sort:  

Congratulations @mummyimperfect! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00