You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Monday Office - Wolfox Food

in #workingat6 years ago

That was a typo @glenalbrethsen. I meant to type - go for a float not gloat!

I've had a really bad day which involved having to take my computer to a shop because the Windows update cocked it up and I couldn't do anything,

Without asking me they just reinstalled windows and lost all my photographs which I've spent months organising and editing.

The originals are on Google thank goodness but I've not idea now what I've posted on Steemit and what I haven't and I've lost all the ones I edited ready to go. 😢

Goodness knows what else is gone. All my music for one thing although I'm not so bothered about that.

I'm just running some software to see if anything can be recovered from the hard disc but if it can't recover them in folders it will be a nightmare to try and organise again.

I was already starting to feel a bit fed up with it all again and this is just another nail in the coffin.

it also has made my back worse since I had to carry my laptop to and from the shop.

Not a good day! &#128546

hope yours is going better!

Sort:  

Oh, man! Sorry to hear about all of that. I gave up on Windows a long time ago, partly because the updates always created some problem somehow. Even with the Mac, I'm slow to put an update on if everything is working properly. I make the computer notify me of any new updates, and unless they're specifically security related (and even then I might not), I just wait for the next one.

I hope you're able to find a quick and easy solution for the photo organization. I would not be happy at all about them doing anything on my computer without asking.

Okay, so float not goat. I wondered if that weren't the case, and then I was left trying to figure out what kind of float, since you could mean floating in water, like the ocean, or a float, like ice cream in soda. :)

I certainly do hope the day turns around for you. 🙁

I'm still in the process of searching my hard disk for any photos that weren't written over by the new install @glenbrethsen. It's bed time now so I think I'm going to have to leave it overnight to do it's thing. although I'm not sure how I'm going to manage the files anyway. So far it seems to have found 2206256. 😱

My son seems to think that once it's finished I might be able to restore them by folders. If I can't there's no way I'll be able to go through them all.

The software has been running for five hours so far and the lie that shows it's progress has hardly moved.

The people in the shop said they'd do the same thing for me, free of charge, which was big of them since they deleted them in the first place. But I wouldn't trust them with anything else. They said it could take them up to two days so, at this rate, it might still be running when my son gets home on Friday!

The float is in a sensory deprivation type tank! 😁

Ooohhhh! A sensory deprivation tank! I would have never guessed that. :)

You know, I've upgraded Windows and OSX a number of times over the years and never once did I lose any files. In fact, unless they did it wrong (which apparently they did), it's not supposed to overwrite existing data unrelated to the previous version of the operating system at all. So, they must have messed it up, and it's for that reason they're offering to do the restoration for free.

Well, will just hope that things look better and brighter in the morning (or that at least the pathway forward will be clearer). Hope for the best, prepare for the worst.

I won't moan on about the files here as I've done so elsewhere @glenalbrethsen. I'm sure you don't want to keep reading my tales of woe.

Suffice it to say it isn't going well at the moment.

I've never lost files before either but you used to be able to do a safe start with the F8 key and find your way in that way. Microsoft, in all their wisdom, have now removed that option in Windows 10, along with automatic system restore points. 😢

Whoops. Okay, well never mind what I told you on the other comment, then. Didn't see you answer this until after I read the other one. I guess the only consolation I do have is that my memory actually did work. :) There's got be something, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69158.00
ETH 3746.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68