Working out of passion or working for money

in #working6 years ago

adult-beautiful-caucasian-914931.jpg

Most people would say that there's a huge difference between passion and money and that working out of passion will always help you achieve a lot more, make a lot more progress and be better than a person who works for money.

However, how true is that?

If you ever worked for money in your life, money you really needed, then you know that you can be as motivated to work for a reward as you would be to work out of passion.

From my own personal experience, working for money can be as motivating as working just because you like doing something. For example, I didn't start writing for Steemit out of passion for writing. I wasn't sure I really liked doing this. I started simply because I wanted money to buy a computer.

That not only motivated me to publish twice a day, sometimes even on weekends, but it also made me learn how to trade on the internal market, how to buy things with Bitcoin and how to increase my income.

I'm sure that if I was writing simply out of passion and I was using Steemit as a way to get more exposure, I would not have learned to do so many things, because I would've been interested only in writing.

That's not to say that working out of passion isn't good. In a lot of cases, people who work on something just because they like it can make a lot more progress than others, simply because they are willing to spend 16 hours a day doing one particular thing while others will take several breaks to relax and have fun.

What you need to know is that knowing exactly why you're working and using that as a way to come up with a better plan and to achieve your goal as fast as possible is, in a lot of situations, a lot better than to do a bunch of stuff trying to achieve something you don't really want.

What's even more important is to not lie to yourself.

If money is what you want, acknowledge that and make sure you work as hard as you can to get as much money as you need. There's no reason for you to lie to yourself and to say "No, I'm working out of passion, making money is just a secondary goal". It's better to have a clear goal and to go for it than to work towards nothing clear out of desire to impress those who may judge your motives.

If passion is what motivates you, then spend as much time as you want doing what you love and don't pay attention to what others say. Try to make as much money as you need to live the way you want and then just do what you like because you like it.

The important part is to know what you want. Why you want that thing and how you're gonna get it, that's something people will always judge you for, so just do your thing and ignore everyone who doesn't like how you do things.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82