Unusual Occupations: Once Upon a Time, I Beach Combed for a Living! No, I'm not Kidding...

in #working7 years ago

There are certain things in life it seems like I have "always" done. 

Beach combing would be one of those things. I suppose it's pretty natural for most little kids to be excited about the beach and rocks and sea shells and dead crabs and things... and I was certainly no different. There are pictures of me, as a three-year old, with my little red bucket, gathering things on the beach.

Beach
For several years, this was my "office!"

If you've been watching these pages for a significant length of time, you've probably seen some of my "color challenge" posts featuring macro photography of beach glass. 

As it turned out, beach glass became the heart of how I ended up becoming a "professional" beach comber.

Dialing Black the Clock to 2006

SeaGlass
Green and blue sea glass

In the late summer of 2006, I packed up my life and moved across the country from Austin, Texas to Port Townsend, Washington. I won't get into the numerous details and reasons that prompted the move, but I can reveal that the promise of living near the ocean again was a strong motivator.

In and of itself, the move was actually pretty out of character for me. 

I tend to be pretty "security oriented," and this was actually a huge leap of faith. I knew nobody here-- except a handful of "web friends,"-- I had no job waiting for me, no real prospects for work, no planned place to live. In one of life's strange twists, my ex and I made the move together: two people, two dogs and four cats and all their possessions stowed in a converted school bus towing a trailer with a car. 

My first ten weeks here were spent living in the bus, in a campground. But that part is not entirely relevant... except for one thing:

The campground was in a state park and pretty much beachfront.

Daily Beach Meditations

Being by the ocean again, I immediately took to taking long daily walks on the beach-- "beach mediations," as I came to think of them.

SeaGlass
Some very rare red sea glass

Now, we all have our "thing;" some people love the mountains; the forests; the city; these are the places where we somehow feel "more whole" than elsewhere. There are seldom any good or logical or tangible reasons we can point to-- it's simply a feeling; we feel better.

Within days, I started fell the weight of 20-odd years of poor decisions and a long series of failures start to leave my system. Even my blood pressure-- which was high enough for "concern," at the time-- dropped some 30 points.

As part of my daily beach meditations, I resumed one of my favorite pastimes: beach combing. Or, in essence, looking for, and picking up, "interesting stuff" on the beach. Turned out, this was an interesting beach with lots of driftwood, shells, beach glass, old pottery, rocks and other cool stuff. 

And, as I walked in silence, I kept thinking to myself "Wouldn't it be COOL if there were some way I could get paid for this?"

I wouldn't exactly say it was setting an intention, nor would I call it a "prayer;" but maybe it was a vague sort of "wish" I sent out to the Cosmos.

A Day at the Arts and Crafts Market

SeaGlass
A view from our local beach

I might have been in town for 4-5 weeks when I happened upon a large outdoor arts and crafts market-- turned out it was an annual event here in our town that had been going for some 40 years.

At one of the booths, I got to talking with an artist who created jewelry and small decorative items with "found objects" from the beach. This was somewhat at the leading edge of the "upcycled materials" movement and she shared as how there were now 100s of artisans using "bits and pieces" from the beach in their art. And, in particular, sea glass.

Whereas this made perfect sense to me, what I did not realize-- till about a week later-- was that there was already a fairly large (and rapidly growing) online market place for "beach combed items" that jewelers were willing to buy from beach combers around the world.

I went down a rabbit hole of research and discovered there were active "categories" for beach glass on both eBay and arts/crafts marketplace Etsy. Which was quite interesting to me... given my daily beach walks!

But Why Would Someone BUY Junk off the Beach?

Like I did at first, you might be wondering why anyone would be willing to buy found objects from the beach? Wouldn't you just go out and find it, yourself? As it turned out, the answers were many and complex.

SeaGlass
A pile of cobalt blue sea glass

Of course, the most obvious answer was that these artists lived everywhere, including the middle of the country, a thousand miles from the nearest beach.

A different case was offered by an artist in an online forum who told me that her time "producing" was far more valuable than the time/money should could save by spending 5-6 hours a day looking for stuff.

And then there was the issue of "quality" and "scarcity.

It turned out that sea glass and pottery was almost like a variation on semi-precious gemstones; there were "rough" to "jewelry grade" qualities; there we colors ranging from common to extremely rare and a wild range of pricing running from cents to $100+ for a single small item. 

Off and Running...

I started pretty slowly, just to test this whole idea and it true out to be true! At first, I just made a few dollars to fund the occasional grocery run. 

SeaGlass
A good day's haul. Back in the day, this would end up being about $600 worth in sales

Slowly I got better organized and started to understand what artists were really looking for, and gradually I started building a clientele. 

It turned out that my move to this town had been inadvertently fortuitous, and I had landed in an area with some of the most sought-after beach treasures on the planet. Not only had this been a busy commercial port with active waterfront businesses since the 1850s, there has also been a seaside dump active till the 1960's, meaning there was plenty of "supply."

Over the next few years, I set out to become what I typically aim for: not the "cheapest" or the "fastest," but the one with the best quality and the most expertise. At its peak, my little venture-- "North Beach Treasures"-- was pretty well known in its niche, and I had over 700 customers around the world.

And in some strange way, my old dreams of "Wouldn't it be COOL if there were some way I could get paid for this?" had become a reality! No, I was by no means "getting rich," but I was definitely making a comfortable living from simply being little more than a beach bum with a sense of enterprise.

All Good Things Must Come to an End Get Outsourced

"The Good Times" lasted for about three years. 

SeaGlass
A large aquamarine colored piece of beach glass. On a good day, a piece like this might fetch $30

Like is true of so many things in life, as some as people start to notice that "money can be made" at something, flocks of what I call "exploiters" move in. 

At first, "new players" come into the marketplace, trying to "mass scale" something that depends on an individual's effort and expertise. Discovering this to be a hard nut to crack, the exploiters turned elsewhere... using the fact that beach combing can be done ANYwhere, and turning to various developing nations (mostly in South East Asia) where (at the time) offering someone $100 a month to pick up old glass on their beach was really a "big deal." They would then have their wares shipped in and offer them for 1/4th of the price people like me had been selling them for.

Of course, it didn't take long for the beach combing "helpers" to figure out that they could go their own way rather than sell to "rich Americans," which drove the markets yet another notch lower.

Within about 18 months, the "value" of what I was doing had shrunk by 75-80%, so I packed it in and went on to do something else.

Reprise...

I still walk on the beach and do my beach meditations, simply for the enjoyment of it. And I still pick up interesting things I find along the way-- mostly for my own collection of windowsill jars.

SeaGlass
Two pieces of orange beach glass, the rarest color of all

However, I will always have the memories of spending three years as a full-time beach comber-- a claim not a lot of people could make... let alone believe to be "a real thing!"

My beach combing adventure marked the third time (in about 15 years) that a "profession" I was involved with "burned itself out" as a result of people trying to "industry scale" a cottage industry, and the third time I lost a way of life to a variation of "outsourcing.

Some things simply don't function on a large scale; yet those who'd insist on trying to prove otherwise will often lay an entire marketplace or industry to waste in their attempts to extract every shred of profit available. Having seen this happen dozens of times across a wide spectrum is one of the reasons that make me worry about the future of Steemit, as well. But that's a different story, for another time!

How About You? Have you had any truly unusual or unlikely jobs/professions? Would you ever have thought it were possibly to make a living from beach combing? If you had the freedom to, what sort of profession would you like to try? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

Animated banner created by @zord189

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 180304 23:20 PST

Sort:  

Once Upon a Time, I picked up empty beer and pop cans along the sides of highways and roads for a living. But that was born of desperation and lacked all the romance and aesthetics of your story.

Great read, and thought provoking. Thank you.

Once Upon a Time, I lived on a bench at a municipal golf course, and picked up beer and pop cans from the trash cans and sold them to the local recycle center... this also out of desperation; or, at least, on account of being homeless. Strange parallels we share...

I was too stubborn and proud to actually resort to panhandling. A good Saturday or Sunday actually yielded over $30-- 150lbs of cans; amazing how much golfers in Texas guzzle during the summer! Lasted about six weeks; then I got a room for rent above someone's garage. Long story.

Fantastic story, @denmarkguy... You've got me smiling again.

I've been blessed to be able to "make a living" for most of my life doing things that I love to do. Mostly designing, inventing, creating stuff. That has mostly been in the field of engineering.

I thank God every day that life hasn't been completely forced into the "9 to 5" drudgery mold!

It was refreshing just thinking of you combing the beach for a living! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks!

It was really an awesome time while it lasted. And I felt a great amount of gratitude, every day I was out there... and I would have the realization of just what I was doing and then I'd think of all the poor schmoes who were stuck in Korporate Kubefarms, and be even more grateful.

I think it is glass that once upon a time was the brake light on a car, back when they were made from glass.

Wow unbilieveable, you work hard and you get those, something amazing.

Well we shouldn't find any hesitation in any sort of work on which our living is dependent, if we love our work we will get best results sooner or after, the thing is are we happy with our work? If we are then there is nothing between sucess and us, it is olny the matter of time

Interesting blog .
Your photography is more then good . keep it up dear . i followed you for a reason .
That is to read your more blogs . hope they will also like this ( interesting to read )

Sounds like some happy years! Even if things change you still have had the chance to learn and prosper (I mean mentally more than financial). Odd jobs in my life has been making and selling loads of hedgehogs in ceramics, playing online games good enough to cash in some money (pocket money, but still..). And, oh, I so miss the favourite game, Rainbow rescue. And right now I make some extra money as mystery shopper.

this stones are so drizzling. heavenly beauty

Hi @denmarkguy :) The variety of colours you have collected in your sea glass collection is really astounding and beautiful. I especially love the orange ones. It sounded like a good job for three years as you do your beach meditations anyway. What a shame that exploitation came in and it had to end. Hope you get to keep some as your personal collection or you still see these sea glasses around. Thanks for sharing this, as I never heard or know of someone doing this for a living and what you can find along the beach shore.

Incredible story, @denmarkguy... You have me grinning once more.

I've been honored to have the capacity to "bring home the bacon" for the greater part of my life doing things that I want to do. For the most part planning, imagining, making stuff. That has generally been in the field of designing.

I say thanks to God consistently that life hasn't been totally constrained into the "9 to 5" drudgery shape!

It was reviving simply considering you looking over the shoreline as a profession.

Sorry for the random comment, but I just had to remark that my late father always used that phrase "bring home the bacon". He even called it "bacon hunting" when he left for work in the morning. Thank you for reminding me of him. :)

And I'm happy for you that your life has been full of doing the things you love and that you managed to avoid the dreaded 9-5. We are the lucky ones!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35