You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I’m Learning to Get Great Freelance Gigs By Turning Down “Good” Ones

in #work7 years ago

Thanks for sharing your passions here. I think this is great advice.

Last year I left a retail management job that was paying me $25/hour. It was paying me pretty fairly, but I found myself hating getting up in the morning, and contemplating whether I should just drive my car off the bridge on the way to work. Life is too short to feel that way every day.

I may have to go back to "regular work" at some point, but I'm confident that by being creative and persistent I may be able to put that off, hopefully indefinitely.

Of course, it's much easier to take these chances as a married guy with no kids. (The wife has a couple successful hustles of her own.) In America, though, this means going without health insurance, and then paying a penalty on our taxes for the fact that we can't afford it!

Sort:  

Ya not having kids is a big benefit when it comes to being picky about jobs!! Sounds like you made the right choice, I think tons of people just resign themselves to hating every work day of their lives and it is super sad to see.

If Steemit is able to grow even modestly for the next 12 months, I think users like us will be in a GREAT place. Imagine the value of Steem grows slowly to $4 in the next year - hardly a crazy idea - this post would be worth around $70! And looking at your blog, you'd have quite a few similarly valuable posts.

When one or two posts a day can generate $50-$100 for mid-level Steemians, there will be a TON of us who are earning a comfortable living or baseline income from this site. In the meantime, we all wait and pray for the "hell yea!" to kick in :-D

I hope you're right! All we can do until then is to keep writing as well we can and hope for the best.

Thanks for taking the time to check out my feed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59391.37
ETH 2525.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47