Work

in #work7 years ago (edited)

image

I work at a treatment center and I often enjoy playing games and hanging out with the boys. I feel like I'm a good example to them as who they should be like when they grow up. I can easily get hours off and I like to be able to come home from work knowing that I might have helped a kid struggling with anxiety or depression and possible help their life in the long run. I used to work in a factory before working here and I would just put bottles on a conveyor belt 8 hours a day. I feel like I am in heaven here at my job spending time with the kids. I'm constantly learning how to be a better worker. Something that I need to learn to do is to be more assertive and to give out consequences to the kids when they are disruptive or annoying. I usually just think to my self " it's not that bad... or I can tolerate it." But that mindset needs to change.
Any suggestions?
Thanks!

Sort:  

Set expectations from the get-go. You can always cave on them selectively as circumstances warrant, right? Kids demand structure. If you do not give it to them, they WILL seek to assert their own structure, which is generally chaos.

Congratulations @wildhamlet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.28
ETH 3441.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62