New Job and Yowies

in #work7 years ago

Ok so a bit of awesome/sad news. Today was my last day at my current/old role supplying over the phone tech help for people with Business Grade internet/phone plans with the ISP I worked for. I was not the only one leaving this week on my floor (total coincidence, other guy was leaving to go back to study and I'm leaving for a new role). Other guy announced resignation ages ago and had organised for his farewell to be a drink up at a local bar today (Friday). I'm not much of a drinker and didn't want to ruffle feathers with more people or not showing up at one fairwell as opposed another so I held my fairwell on Wednesday evening at a cafe nearby that did Yiros/Gyro/Donna Kebabs/whatever you want to call them.


For my fairwell I got heaps of presents but one of them was a handful of Yowies.
For the Europeans out there they are basically the Australian version of Kinder Surprise except it's just milk chocolate (closest equivalent in taste is maybe toblerone) and the toys rarely ever need to be assembled. For Americans who for some whacky reason ban these sorts of things, think hollow easter bunny chocolate with a plastic egg inside that holds a toy standing at around an inch or two tall.
In Aboriginal legends Yowies are a bit like the Australian version of Big Foot or the Abominable Snowman. (Fun fact: the Australian version of the Jabberwock/Chupacabra is the Bunyip)
It used to be that Yowies used to have ONLY Australasian wildlife inside but it seems that they've branched out as years went passed to include wildlife around the globe. Co-workers knew I liked Yowies because I kept a few Yowie treasures on my desk. Please note: Green creature below is not actual wildlife, just a stylised Yowie

Now as I said, I held my fairwell on Wednesday evening and I start my new job on Monday. That meant including Wednesday there were 5 days before I started my new job. As it so happened I got given 5 Yowies. Though I had not originally planned it they have become like a mini advent calender for me in my new role, so I decided to do post on Steemit with what I got out of my Yowies each day.


On Wednesday evening during the fairwell I opened my first Yowie and got a Fennec Fox.



On Thursday I got an Alpaca.



Now for today (Friday) let's see...




-

-

-

-

I got a Caracal!



Check out my blog tomorrow to see what I get out of Saturdays Yowie.

Steemians, share with me your favourite Yowie and Kinder Surprise Treasures!

Americans I guess the closest comparison would be Happy Meal Toys from McDonalds.

Let me know your favourites!



Sort:  

They are pretty cool figures

I've never seen these! I only recently even discovered what a Yowie is (the none chocolate one that is)!

All the best with your new job.

The green Yowie figure is quite rare I think :)

good job, continue, good luck

Good luck with your new job, hope it goes well for you :)

These headphones feature large ear cups that encompass your ears, providing excellent sound isolation and comfort. They are known for delivering high-quality audio and are favored by audiophiles and professionals. best headphones for construction workers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62647.29
ETH 2439.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66