My Canadian "day job" ~ yes I do have one, come see for yourself!

in #work7 years ago

Believe it or not I do actually have a "day job". I truly believe a lot of you just rolled your eyes at reading that statement, as it appears that my "job" isn't really "work". You know what?!?! I wholesomely agree with you. I love it!! I guess there is some truth to that old saying -

"Do what you love & you will never work a day in your life."

has a little bit of truth to it. Don't get me wrong. There are days at my job that I think to myself that I do not get paid enough to do this crap. This is typically when weather conditions are borderline dangerous but still manageable to take people out and encounter whales. Its really bumpy sea conditions and you are wet, cold and guests on board can’t get a good enough photo of a whale you are interacting with. Those days are far from ideal. Luckily, those days are very very rare.


IMG_9353.jpg

A breaching orca.
Click image to view full size.


However, for the most part its nothing but fun and the people I have work with in Canada are no doubt some of my best friends, which is what makes a job worth while ~ I have always believed that its all about the people you work with not what you do.


IMG_6161.jpg

BC TIKA ~ one of the vessels I drive on Vancouver Island - her nickname is the 'Sweet Lady of Darkness'
Click image to view full size.


My Canadian "day job" consists of taking 12 people on a high speed zodiac style vessel for about 3 - 4 hours to find and interact with as many marine mammals as possible ~ with a main focus on whales, especially orca and humpbacks. In a busy day in summer you can easily personally drive 3 tours and do that for 6 days in a row. This happens quite often in the middle of summer of July & August.


IMG_3690.jpg

A Bigg's orca feasting on what was once a harbour seal in between my vessel and my colleagues in June, 2017. You can see the blob of red in her mouth... poor seal. Interesting fact is that Ian Healy - the cricket legend is on that vessel too. He is in a black suit, 3rd person from the right.
Click image to view full size.


I know it seems like a tough gig... If any Steemians are planning or ever wanted to encounter orca or humpbacks along the west coast of Canada then come on over to Vancouver Island to Victoria and check them out. It is a beautiful spot in the world and a consistent area to constantly encounter orca daily, year-round. I do know that from some of people’s comments that they would love to see these animals that I constantly post pictures of, which all I can say is come over grab some first hand experience.


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Sort:  

Well done ..
It looks amazing .. great job
For more creativity .. Thank you for your words

It was very good to know the information was not known. You have a lot of fascination

I really like writing articles that you post and a lot of information and knowledge that I can in this steemit.

I hope I love my job as much as you when I get my first 'real' job out of college.

Seems as though you went the right direction in life choosing a career that you love and enjoy with your best of friends. This I can say is what i hope to experience in life as well!

Cheers mate!

its your life - I say go for it and make it happen

~wise words from a wise man~

Nice job Thomas. I would love to see big marine life like that. I was a keen surfer and still have huge love for the ocean.
I feel you though.. I live in Cambodia and teach guitar at a local school.
I drive a motorbike and often think the drive from my apartment to the school is not even worth 50 bucks! ha , it is that dangerous and lawless! I shudder at the $7.50 charge for the lesson. .. But I gotta eat :)
If I am over there performing someday I will let you know :)
Peace.

please do, mate! do what you love, right?

Totally!! You are blessed! I was blessed with a gift I took for granted man.
For 20 years I worked jobs aimlessly just to get by,, Where I was from It didn't feel right not to have a job and have free time to explore things because everybody else was working and frowned upon lazyness. Years of sustainable monotony flew by.
It was only 3 years ago I decided to take life seriously and concentrate and share what I am good at. I couldn't really do that in England.
In the 3 years of living here in Cambodia, all the funds I have made have been from playing my guitar!
I still scrape a living but tis a living worth scraping for f sure! ;)

That is awesome!

It was only a year ago I started sharing my music so keep your ears out if you dig guitar .. I have a lot to express :)

Wow! talk about a rad Job. Have you been desensitized by the magic of the wild life yet? or is that something you never get sick of seeing?

I know what you mean by sometimes the weather can make your amazing job not so amazing. I used to be am action photographer for a ski resort. It was the best job ever. I got paid to snowboard and take pictures of people having fun. Until it was in the negatives and the wind was blowing 20mph.

Thanks for sharing! Keep up the good work.

Oh, you do have a dream job!! I love your little corner of the world. If money were no object, that's where I'd live. And what fun, you get to spend your day entertaining people!

Your job looks awesome! Except I get motion sickness, so I’d never be able to do it myself :(

You are a lucky guy to get to do something you love, and being out all day enjoying nature. Great pictures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31