Try The Pomodoro Technique For Productivity

in #work6 years ago

Sometimes, it doesn’t really matter how much we love writing; it just doesn’t seem to happen. It appears to be too hard, at least more than usual, and it doesn't flow as smoothly as it should.

You feel stuck and frustrated. Hence, you get bored. Hence, the mere thought of staring at an inanimate object for two hours seems to be more appealing than sitting in front of a blank page.

Good luck we have this thing called the Pomodoro Technique.



Writing procrastination is a lot more common than you think among writers, regardless of how committed with your project you might be. Submerging ourselves into our writing may have overall priority in our lives, but sometimes going around the same plot hole or scene is the only thing we seem to do. The thing is, our brains are capable of doing a whole lot more than that, it just needs a little push from time to time.

The idea behind the Pomodoro Technique is to work for shorter periods of time, instead of long ones as you would regularly do, in order to not lose focus on the task you are doing. And reward yourself once the time interval is over.

This well-known technique it’s proven to help you improve your productivity by working hard in 25-minute-long periods of time, and taking a 5-minute-break once you are over. And after completing four full Pomodoro cycles, you get a 15-minute break for your efforts.

Coffee, anyone?



Your time is valuable, and this technique allows you to make the best of it, providing you full control of each time interval in order to deliver a balanced outcome.

And the benefits are too great to not, at least, consider giving it a try.

It will not only help you ease the anxiety that not getting shit done gives you, but it will also help you eliminate the burnout and frustration that comes after a long day of doing nada. You will make sure you won’t overwork, and you’ll discover how efficient your brain can be if you push the right buttons.

Happy Writing!


Fun-fact: this post was researched, written and posted in 3 Pomodoros.


Source: The Pomodoro Technique
Image Source: I, II


Sort:  

Wow - I do something similar to this already, but the Pomodoro technique might help me fine-tune. I'm usually working on both creative and non-fiction writing at the same time (for Steemit) and I take breaks from one to work on the other. It helps clear my mind and lets me start fresh more often in the day than if I just stuck to one task. I'll be sharing this post on the Isle of Write - thanks for the information!

That sounds so challenging yet so exciting! I hope the Pomodoro technique helps you manage your time better. And I'm definitely joining your Discord channel!

The Pomodoro Technique is super helpful, and easy to implement!

Thanks for sharing I'm always looking for ways to increase productivity!

Thanks for sharing. I'm an OCD curator and I want to nominate this post to our daily compilation. This could get you more attention to your blog and maybe some extra votes. Reply if you accept.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Want to support OCD? Vote for @ocd-witness Steemit Witnesses

Of course I accept, I'm a huge fan of the project! Thank you so much!!

You are the best! Thank you for the nomination!

I think this is why the #freewrite works so well for me. I can just write something for five minutes and then feel like I've been productive and that feeds my desire to do MORE.

I used to use this technique with my kids for cleaning, too. We'd set the timer for 30 minutes of cleaning and clean as hard as we could for 30 minutes, then have a break. We got SO much more done that way, because they knew that it was only 30 minutes.

Great post and I love the idea of incorporating this even more into my writing process!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51