Can you Work as a Programmer for a Company without having a College Degree?

in #work6 years ago (edited)

View this answer on Musing.io

Absolutely, you can!

I would even say that a 4-year computer science degree might even be too expensive & time consuming for most people. 

I currently work for a cloud computing company (I've been working in IT for 15 years in various ways, mostly as a Sys Admin or in Security.) While I have never been employed as a Developer, the vast majority of Developers (front-end, back-end, devops, etc.) at work do not have relevant university degrees. 

I asked some co-workers for a good learning resource and they recommended a very interactive learning website called Team Treehouse. Apparently their Python, Ruby, & Front-end classes are good.)

Good luck on your creative journey and build some cool stuff!

Sort:  

I've been reading http://jsforcats.com

I've dabbled in java and python and realised that most of the things you learn in one language is interchangeable into another.

https://www.tutorialspoint.com/index.htm is another good website to learn all sorts of things from as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48