When you're out of ideas, surround yourself with creation

in #work6 years ago

art-art-materials-blank-416346.jpg

And I mean the act of creation.

I've been writing on this website for over a year now, and in that time I managed to publish over 600 articles. It's hard to constantly be inspired and have new ideas after publishing so much content, and because of that I often find myself having no idea what to write.

The way I used to solve that problem was by trying to consume a lot of content hoping that I'll get an idea at some point. That still works wonderfully. If I want to get an idea and I just can't no matter how much I try, then reading a few articles or even watching a movie usually solves the problem.

But lately I discovered another way you can get rid of this "writer's block", something simple that will help you make progress in other areas as well, something I discussed in yesterday's article - creating.

Surrounding yourself with all kind of things you have to work on and making sure you have enough time to take care of those things will often give you a bunch of ideas when it comes to what to write.

The reason is fairly simple - when you're trying to think of something to write for a place like Steemit, you're trying to be creative, you're trying to find a way to create something from nothing. Trying to draw involves the same thing. Making a video or editing some images in Photoshop also require you to be creative.

Once you start doing something else, working on a different creative project and doing your best to come up with new ideas to finish it, then your brain will get into the "creative" mood, which will often help you come up with ideas for articles as well.

Not only that but you'll be more productive in other areas too!

Recently I started creating more and more things, especially in Blender, playing with all kind of abstract shapes and working on realistic things from time to time, and I have to say, it really helps me when it comes to writing articles. Even if I don't have any idea about what to write, I can still post something I made in Blender.

So yeah, that's pretty much it - start being more creative, start creating more things, and see what you can achieve.

Have a nice weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81