What's your easiest task? Focus on it!

in #work6 years ago

agenda-calendar-checklist-3243.jpg

You know how those articles focused on productivity tell you to focus on your hardest task early in the morning, so you can be done with it really fast and do the easy things late at night when your energy levels are low?

Well, I think a different approach could help you save some more energy while being just as productive, by focusing on your easiest task first.

It depends, of course, on the nature of the task, but basically, all you have to do is work in advance and finish days or even weeks worth of work in as little time as you can. Writing for Steemit or any other website could be a good example.

Maybe you saw that a few weeks ago I published on this website an article called "25 Articles" where I shared with you my goal, to write 25 articles in just a couple of days so I can forget about writing for around a month and focus solely on working in Blender.

I'm not sure when you're reading this article, but I can tell you that this was written in the same day as the article I mentioned above. This is the article number 17 and I only have 8 more to go.

The reason I decided to do this is because writing is, for me, the easiest task. I can write a bunch of fairly short articles in a short amount of time, and I can literally finish weeks worth of work in less than three hours. So, that's what I decided to do.

I started writing today at around 12 PM and in 5 hours I wrote 17 articles. That's the equivalent of a few weeks that I can spend working an extra hour in Blender that I would've spent writing.

And this is something you can do as well, as long as you can work in advance on a certain task. If writing on a daily basis is something you do as well, instead of writing every day, you can take one day a week, Monday for example, and spend it writing 5 articles, and be done with that task for the rest of the week.

If working as a designer is something you do besides your normal job, instead of investing one hour into that activity every day after you come from work, when you're tired, you could spend either your Saturday or Sunday working on your project and be done with everything you need to do for the rest of the week.

Focusing on your easiest task and being done with it for days, weeks or even months is a great way to save more time and invest it into something a lot harder that requires a lot more effort.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66