[Results] Switching to a weekly schedule instead of a daily one

in #work3 years ago

At the beginning of last week I posted an article called "Switching to a weekly schedule instead of a daily one", where I talked about how I wanted to change my way of doing things, and work with a weekly-based schedule instead of a daily one for an entire week, in order to hopefully improve my productivity.

To better explain what that involves, I basically made an entire schedule last Sunday that covered all the things that I wanted to do every day, for the entire week, and what I wanted to have achieved at the end of it. I did this in order to have a much clearer picture of what tasks I want to focus most on, and not have to plan everything a day before, or figure out what I want to do every single day before work.

It's been 7 days since I started doing this, and the only thing I can say is that it worked better than I expected.

Not having to come up with a to-do list a day before you need to work, in which you'll have to figure out what are the most important parts that you need to focus on throughout the following day, is quite a relief.

It also becomes a lot easier to see everything you'll be able to achieve throughout the week before the week even starts, and that's quite motivating.

Besides, if you plan your week well, you'll be able to avoid burnout quite easily. You don't have to fill your days with work, because you'll eventually get sick and tired of it. But you can have a clear idea of what you want to do and that helps a lot.

With the weekly schedule, here's what I managed to do last week:

  1. Publish 6 articles, one every single day, except on Sunday, when I had to take care of some unexpected things

  2. Watched 10 videos from the Computer Science course I found on YouTube

  3. I continued following lessons from Duolingo in order to learn a new language

  4. Managed to finish "Rich Dad Poor Dad", which was around 130 pages long, and I started reading "Plutarch - On Sparta", which is a more difficult, but really interesting book.

Those are the main things that I did throughout the week in order to keep myself productive. Aside from that I also spent quite some time trading on the Hive marketplace in order to increase the amount of Hive I have, which I successfully did.

Because of the books "Rich Dad Poor Dad" and "The Richest Man in Babylon", I also spent some time thinking about what I should invest my money in and how I should improve my financial situation in the future.

The conclusion after thinking about all that and doing a bit of research was that the quickest and easiest way for me to start investing soon would be to use some of the money I make on Hive, both from rewards and from the trading that I do, invest part of it into Hive Power, then at certain intervals invest some of it into other currencies, outside of Hive.

That should help me diversify my portfolio, and have the chance to make some extra money. I will obviously need to do a bunch of research on which coins to invest in, but that's something to think about in the future, when I'll actually have the money to invest.

All this came from last week's work. And this progress was easy to achieve because I planned everything before the week even started.

The conclusion is that working with a weekly-based schedule was quite a good idea, and I'm gonna keep using it for a while to see how much more progress I can make.

One thing you should keep in mind, if you want to try this thing, is to make sure that you give yourself enough time to relax and do other things besides work. It's really easy and tempting to add more and more tasks into your schedule thinking you're gonna be really productive, but when you'll actually have to do all those things, you might realize it's not such a pleasant experience.

You will either end up not doing most of the things you planned to do, or getting really tired and burned out.

It's much better to start small, with 3-4 tasks that you know you'll be able to do, that are also really important to you and could help you make a lot of progress than to try to do 14 things every day and fail at most of them.

Anyway, the takeaway from this is that using a weekly-based schedule seems to be a good way to boost productivity, at least for me. It offers a clear path that you need to take towards achieving what you want, and it takes away the stress of having to figure out what you need to focus on every day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81